Skip to content

TSS: Waiting

September 18, 2011

The Sunday Salon.com

Earlier this week, upon growing tired of explaining our frustrating “waiting” status, I referenced the part of Dr. Seuss’ Oh, The Places You’ll Go! that outlines The Waiting Place. I thought that this was pretty standard, required reading material but then again, I’ve been wrong (just a time or two) before. In case you haven’t had the joy of reading this book (and really you need to go do so right this very instant. Not I’m serious. Go…), here’s the referenced passage.

You can get so confused that you’ll start in to race down long wiggled roads at a break-necking pace and grind on for miles across weirdish wild space, headed, I fear, toward a most useless place.

The Waiting Place…for people just waiting.

Waiting for a train to go or a bus to come, or a plane to go or the mail to come, or the rain to go or the phone to ring, or the snow to snow or waiting around for a Yes or No or waiting for their hair to grow. Everyone is just waiting.

Waiting for the fish to bite or waiting for wind to fly a kite or waiting around for Friday night or waiting, perhaps, for their Uncle Jake or a pot to boil, or a Better Break or a string of pearls, or a pair of pants or a wig with curls, or Another Chance. Everyone is just waiting.

Ah, yes, as much as I ever thought I understood the concept behind this passage, I know now that I never really did. Until now. My mom also posted an incredibly, emotionally accurate on the same topic which you should definitely check out as I think, secure, intense waiting, or normal, everyday waiting, is something we all run up against.

You can find her at http://www.growinginplace.wordpress.com

In more positive news, our much more downplayed but also new addition to the family has been staying here at the hospital with me. Say hello to my lovely little iPad! Hello! She still doesn’t have a name but, hey, there’s time. I’m still figuring out my way around it and trying to learn the ways in which google reader and wordpress work with the software but for the most part, it’s just as easy as can be.

Hopefully my update on Monday after all of my tests are done will rocket us out of the waiting room in one way or another and I’ll at long last have something cool to share. Thank you, once again, for all of your love and support and your vicarious waiting.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2011 12:25 am

    I have a couple of friends who are both waiting as well! I am an tenterhooks waiting to see the news from all of you!

  2. September 18, 2011 9:09 am

    Waiting is hard. Congrats on the new ipad. It will help pass time. You are in our thoughts and I am hoping tomorrow brings good news. Hang in there. Your mom’s post is great! I think she hit the nail on the head!

  3. September 18, 2011 11:50 am

    Hooray for a new distraction! I’m sending best wishes and warm thoughts to you and yours — such a wait, too — but looking forward to the happy announcement when it comes (at a safe time! ;))

  4. September 18, 2011 10:39 pm

    I love that passage in The Places You’ll Go. The good doctor got that part right, didn’t he? My friend gave me a copy for college graduation and I still reread it and learn from it from time to time.

    And enjoy your iPad!!! I love mine and you’ll grow to appreciate it more and more each day.

  5. September 19, 2011 7:20 pm

    Yay for a new iPad!!! That’s fantastic news! And definitely something that will keep you distracted for a bit at least.

    I feel for you, I’ve disliked each of my hospital stays and “waiting” periods. In fact I’ve been waiting now for a couple of months for a surgery the end of this week that will finally give me a firm answer to whether I have cancer. It’s all a bit scary with two little ones at home and I just wish I knew (months ago) so that I could tackle things head on. The waiting is no fun, but thankfully it sounds like it’s just about over for both of us. 🙂 Good luck!!!

Leave a Reply

