Skip to content

Update!

September 17, 2011

I thought I should check in since things have changed or rather since they haven’t.

A quick recap: Last Thursday, I was admitted to the hospital at 32 weeks, with signs of moderate preeclampsia. Since then, we have been “about to induce” 3 times now and have been sent home once only to be readmitted the next day due to very high blood pressure.

The here and now: Now I’m pretty much captured here in my hospital bed until they decide to deliver. The doctors thought for sure, that we would have a baby by now but the numbers for my protien test came back at 275 instead of 300, so they are letting the baby “cook” at least until Monday’s results are back from the lab. By then they think it will be go time.

It’s been a very stressful week and a half because of all of the ups and downs. We’re of course, happy that we’ve been sitting in the hospital, bored and on magnesium sulfate (ok, I’m admittedly NOT happy about that part!), rather than scared and sitting in the NICU with a preemie! There is still a very high probability that Gavin will spend a little time in the NICU if he arrives Monday or Tuesday but nowhere near as much as if he had been taken out, last Thursday.

Thank you, everyone for your ongoing support and positive thoughts and of course for checking up on me.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2011 6:45 pm

    Sending TONS and TONS of love.

  2. September 17, 2011 6:51 pm

    I often wonder how awful it must have been for women before they could diagnose preeclampsia. I’m so glad you are being looked after!!!

    • September 17, 2011 7:22 pm

      I know, right? Considering it’s Even now one of the only remaining causes of maternal death in pregnancy and birth, I’m guessing it used to count for a lot before they understood it. From my go round I’m learning that they, my docs, hospital, the mayo clinic, web MD, etc, are still in the dark. My motherinlaw went into a seziure when she was delivering my husband and that was only in the 80s. Shes fine and had a nice healthy pregnancy the second time but it makes it much easier to tolerate the magnesium sulfate with the knowledge that it’s pretty real!

  3. September 17, 2011 6:59 pm

    It won’t be long now!! Take care!

  4. September 17, 2011 7:38 pm

    :::hug::: Keep on bakin, mama! But when it is Gavin’s time to arrive, I can’t wait to see pictures and send love via the interwebz until the next time you come home to MA!

  5. September 17, 2011 7:38 pm

    Will keep you in my thoughts!

    Thank goodness for internet access in the hospital!

  6. September 17, 2011 7:45 pm

    Thanks so much, Marg, and thank goodness for my iPad or I would be freaking out, right now, which would definitely NOT be good for my blood pressure!

  7. Turkstras permalink
    September 17, 2011 9:47 pm

    Sending lots of good thoughts and Prayers! Praying Gavin stays cooking longer then anyone expects. Every day counts, your doing a fantastic job! Hoping your men are managing with out you home.
    Sarah

  8. September 17, 2011 9:57 pm

    OMG!! I’m sure this is not quite how you imagined your pregnancy ending up (does anyone’s pregnancy go the way they imagine?), but I’m glad that it appears as if everything’s going to be okay. Take care, and be sure to post pictures as soon as you can. ๐Ÿ˜€

    (So glad you have an iPad in the hospital! What a great thing to keep your mind off things!)

  9. September 17, 2011 10:14 pm

    sending love and baby cooking vibes ๐Ÿ™‚ xo

  10. September 17, 2011 11:08 pm

    All good things to you and your family!

    Thanks for updating us; I was so surprised when I heard from you on my blog today … glad to know that you’re resting comfortably.

  11. September 17, 2011 11:10 pm

    How scary! I’m sending positive thoughts your way!

  12. September 18, 2011 12:35 pm

    Scary stuff! I hope that everything turns out okay and that you and the baby are nice and healthy. Lots of good thoughts sent your way!

  13. September 18, 2011 10:37 pm

    I’m sure it is wearing to not have clear answers! But it is probably best to let the baby “cook” as long as possible. Sending you good thoughts and wishes for a healthy baby and a healthy mommy when everyone is ready!

  14. September 19, 2011 12:17 am

    Best wishes! ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. September 21, 2011 6:35 pm

    Thoughts and prayers to you and thinking happy baby thoughts.

Leave a Reply

