Skip to content

TSS: Missing Maisie

April 24, 2011

The Sunday Salon.com
I really wanted to whine and complain about the bizarre casting job of The Hunger Games but I thought, on a such a beautiful Easter morning, I should focus on something a bit more positive.

Ah, we have come to the end of the road, at last. I have read all there is to tell, thus far, about Miss Dobbs and though I am very sure that there will be more coming from her creator, it will be quite some time, I fear.

What shall I do until then? Well, I was looking through my stack, last night and it appears that I shall not be missing Maisie all that much, anyway. I’ve got a fun filled tale about World War II Fly Girls and a deeper story about an affluent Jewish family in Czechoslovakia right around the time Hitler ran away with the Sudetenland.

Ok, so neither are Maisie but they will help fill in the time period gaps with something of a bit more substance and slightly different fare than she usually offers up. Also on deck, I have another European tale of adventure by the very young and brilliant Téa Obreht. She’s the first of my Orange Short List writers to read and I’m pretty pumped to get started!

That’s about it. A short holiday post but I was feeling a bit weepy. I think I’ve managed to pump myself up, enough, in leaving Maisie behind. However, if you do run across anything “Maisie-like”, do send it my way!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2011 12:47 pm

    Intriguing books on your stack…hope you enjoy them.

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST

  2. Chelsea permalink
    April 24, 2011 1:46 pm

    I couldn’t agree with you more about THG casting. But it sounds like you’ve got plenty to keep you distracted on this lovely Easter Sunday! Thanks for a great Sunday Salon!

  3. April 24, 2011 6:28 pm

    I hadn’t heard about the Hunger Games casting, so your post made me look it up. I guess I’m just excited it’s being made into a movie. It ought to be interesting. . .

  4. April 25, 2011 8:53 am

    Don’t you just hate it when you run out of books in a beloved series? I hope you’re able to find something good to fill in the void.

Leave a Reply

