Skip to content

Sunday Salon: Tummy Bugs and Swedish Thugs

February 21, 2010

The Sunday Salon.com

I know it’s not nice to brag but I very rarely have the opportunity to, so I thought I should go ahead and do that, now.

I was having a terrible Friday, complete with the week from hell and the beginnings of what, over the weekend, progressed to my very first tummy-virus since the seventh grade. Well, imagine my joy and surprise at coming home to a package from Alfred A. Knopf sitting on my doorstep (courtesy of Alfred P. Knopf’s awesome blogging event held back over the summer). My two year old squealed and said “Mommy’s book!” How he knew what was inside, I don’t know but he was right. There, inside the package (which I knew contained a book) was my dear sweet beloved The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest!

I know it’s a little bit weird to get so worked up about a brutal crime series dealing in torture, sex abuse and other ills, especially since that’s not usually my cup of tea. But excited I am and you should be, too. If you haven’t gotten around to reading Stieg Larsson’s Millennium trilogy, I highly recommend it.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2010 12:45 pm

    That’s exciting! A little bragging is warranted. There are rumors going around that we might read the first in the trilogy for my book club, but we will see how that pans out. i don’t know if these are necessarily book club books.

    • iwriteinbooks permalink*
      February 21, 2010 5:59 pm

      Haha yeah, they’re really amazing books BUT I’m not quite sure they’re book club books!

  2. February 21, 2010 2:22 pm

    Lucky duck! I’d be bragging too!

  3. February 21, 2010 3:49 pm

    Nothing like unexpectedly receiving a fantastic book in the mail!

  4. February 22, 2010 7:11 pm

    Ewww…stomach bugs aren’t fun at all!! Having kids gives you the great “joy” of experiencing them again, huh?

    And I just started the Millennium series and got caught up in it. You are so lucky to get the last installment … I know everyone is waiting with bated breath to get their hands on this one!!!

  5. February 23, 2010 12:14 pm

    Jealous! 🙂

  6. February 24, 2010 12:47 pm

    Reading several blog posts about their excitement at getting ARCs of Hornet’s Nest, I feel incredibly lucky to have had it right beside me when I finished Played with Fire! I would have burst with anticipation. I wonder why the big delay with Hornet’s Nest. We (Australia) have it released late last year. I loved the series. Hope you enjoy Hornet’s Nest. 🙂

Leave a comment