Skip to content

Giveaway: The Girl who Played with Fire

August 3, 2009

What’s hotter than The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo?

The Girl Who Played With Fire!


I am hosting a giveaway (be gentle; it’s my first time) via Random House for a copy of the second Millenium book. It also comes with temporary tattoos. Excited yet?

Ok, here’s the deal, mystery fans. I am going to run the contest for let’s say, two weeks, Monday to Monday. For an entry, you must leave me a comment with your email address and answer the question below. You get brownie points if you tell a buddy but because I encourage word of mouth advertising, I can’t really promise extra entries for extra chatting on facebook or twitter. Of course, the universe will know and maybe so will your luck.

Now, the fun part. Along with your email, leave for me the best setting for a thriller. Larsson jumps from location to location, each inspiring in its own way. What would you pick? Is it a small island with a private family estate? Is it in the middle of a bustling city? Does the setting matter?

Answer away and good luck!

38 Comments leave one →
  1. jpetroroy permalink
    August 3, 2009 6:38 pm

    Ooh, fun question! Hm….I’ve always liked Victorian England for a thriller. Mix in lamplit streets, rainy evenings, dark alleyways with a dose of the open countryside and you have the best of both worlds–a great canvas to both skulk and escape.

    Jen

    jpetroroy@gmail.com

  2. August 3, 2009 7:43 pm

    Looks great! I like the response above…. cold, damp rainy – oh yeah…. I was thinking one of those creapy little towns – a little Children of the Cornish….hee hee… that movie still creeps me out…

    You know – where the people are all scary like and then in comes the newbies….. having no idea what they just walked into….

  3. August 3, 2009 11:10 pm

    I like cities – lots of places to get into trouble!

    Please enter me!

    nbmars AT yahoo DOT com

  4. Wanda permalink
    August 4, 2009 12:28 am

    How about Chicago, Illinois?
    wandanamgreb (at) gmail (dot) com

  5. stacybuckeye permalink
    August 4, 2009 12:52 am

    With cities there is never a shortage of action, but sometimes the smaller towns can be more spooky. I don’t think there is a right answer 🙂
    stacybooks at yahoo

  6. TwinMomMichelle permalink
    August 4, 2009 8:12 am

    Anyplace can be great for a thriller, but I tend to like sleepy towns in which people don’t normally lock their doors. Everyone knows everyone and nobody expects anything bad to happen. Maybe I’m just a fan of books in which everyone’s skeletons are coerced out of their closets.

    meeshlea@hotmail.com

  7. August 4, 2009 6:59 pm

    I agree, almost any setting is a good setting for a thriller. Atmospheric is good, and I think more rural can be nice, as opposed to urban.

    wordlily AT gmail DOT com

  8. August 5, 2009 8:23 am

    Isn’t the setting the one thing that makes us readers go “Aw, no. Seriously?” The place that would make me have that reaction would be an airport. Imagine there’s a killer in the airport, and he’s already committed a murder. With all the security… wow.

    loony_balooga_91(AT)hotmail(DOT)com
    Posted on Twitter: http://twitter.com/dy0ulee/status/3143381826

    P.S. – Isn’t it weird that the first thing that comes to mind is Harper’s Island? Hmm.

  9. August 5, 2009 11:24 am

    Hmmm–I read and enjoy all kinds of mysteries set in all kinds of places. I enjoy settings that exotic to me, like a series set in Bangkok. I also enjoy settings that are unexpected, like small towns or farms in the middle of nowhere. I think that it is not a matter of where the setting is, but how the author uses it. I remember one that was rather gothic and used a family home to great advantage–small scale setting writ large.

  10. pearl permalink
    August 7, 2009 7:26 pm

    I love mysteries and the settings make it so vivid and are so important. Venice is a place that makes it for a suspense filled mystery.

  11. August 9, 2009 10:44 am

    I especially like libraries for a thriller. Physical movement among the stacks and intellectual movement within the books. Thanks for hosting the great giveaway!

  12. August 9, 2009 5:11 pm

    Great question! I don’t think the setting matters as much to me as the characters. I like castles, though!

  13. Debbie permalink
    August 9, 2009 7:49 pm

    I think the best setting for a thriller is any place dark. For some reason dark is always scary and suspenseful. Please include me in your giveaway.
    Thanks
    Debbie
    debdesk9(at)verizon.net

  14. Denny permalink
    August 9, 2009 7:59 pm

    Please enter me in the contest! My favorite setting for a thriller is another (non-US) country; makes for an interesting and educational read. Thanks

  15. Mary D permalink
    August 9, 2009 11:02 pm

    Oh, I LOVE your giveaway idea 🙂 Please enter me and here is my idea for a good thriller setting –

    AN ABANDONED AMUSEMENT PARK (they are creepy, dark, in disrepair, etc)

  16. August 10, 2009 12:16 am

    I think what makes a good thriller to me would be someplace that I am familiar with – then I can put myself in the action and get a good scare out of it – Growing up in the midwest that would mean farm country – Nothing like being alone on a farm at night with the nearest neighbors over a mile away to bring out the chills!

    Kristi
    kherbrand at comcast dot net

  17. Aimee W. permalink
    August 10, 2009 3:59 am

    Great question…and giveaway! I can most vividly imagine thrillers set in the country. Rural areas…small, dark, winding country roads…old farmhouses or estates. Perfect.
    Thanks!

  18. Raelena permalink
    August 10, 2009 7:22 am

    I think Louisiana makes a great setting….whether its the French Quarter or the bayou
    throuthehaze at gmail dot com

  19. Ruth Ann permalink
    August 10, 2009 9:43 am

    I’ve always thought the best setting for a thriller was a big city, particularly something in the north or north east. An older city with an industrial base, abandoned buildings, the possibility of it being cold and rainy. New York is over used. I’ve always though Detroit, Pittsburgh or Buffalo were great settings for thrillers.

    Thanks for the chance to win.
    ruthann (dot) francis (at) gmail (dot) com

  20. August 10, 2009 10:01 am

    I seem to be drawn to murders set in foreign cities. Venice, Paris, Prague, Bruge…London..It doesn’t really matter as long as the story isn’t predictable. The Girl with the Dragon Tatoo was anything but predictable and I am looking forward to the next installment.

    Thanks for the chance.

  21. Raymond N permalink
    August 10, 2009 12:22 pm

    Old historical cities such as London and Paris are the best to stage a thriller!

    rng888 (AT) gmail (dot) com

  22. elizabeth permalink
    August 10, 2009 1:13 pm

    love the blog tite by the way…
    lots of good thriller settings, but I feel like remote locations are always ripe places,where law and order is a little ambiguous or uncontrolled/corrupt

    wheresmyrain@yahoo.com

  23. elizabeth permalink
    August 10, 2009 1:14 pm

    in case you need spam free emal address for my previous post
    wheresmyrain(at)yahoo(dot)com

  24. Stephanie C. Brown permalink
    August 10, 2009 1:30 pm

    One of the oldest southern universities (started as a Teacher’s College in late, late 1800’s) – haunted dorm and auditorium – several deaths over the years.

    The south is ripe for exploitation.

  25. August 11, 2009 3:48 pm

    I’m partial to small town settings for mysteries. You know – everybody knows everybody so they all think they know who did it. Makes it trickier that way.

  26. August 13, 2009 10:47 am

    Hmmm, good question! I’m always partial to dark, spooky castles! Would love to win this book! Thanks so much for hosting the giveaway!
    Stephanie @ wordblog(at)optonline(dot)net

  27. August 13, 2009 10:56 pm

    Ohhh, really fun question! I have personally always wanted to write a thriller or mystery set at Versailles. Something about that place just calls to me! One day I will write that book!

  28. Marie permalink
    August 14, 2009 2:32 pm

    I like old places — like an old castle or an old house in a small town — the older the better 🙂

  29. August 14, 2009 11:03 pm

    The Latin Corner in Paris-with its narrow cobblestone streets.

  30. Cynthia V permalink
    August 15, 2009 5:42 am

    In a sleepy little town where nothing much ever really happens. Oh wait, I read a book like that recently and it was fantastic.

  31. Grad School Mommy permalink
    August 15, 2009 7:51 am

    i’m loving all these great ideas! personally, i’d have to go with the city of Montreal as the backdrop for a great thriller. you’ve got the whole bilingual/language aspect to complicate the storyline, a big city with an eccecletic demographic, loads of history, and — of course — cold, dark landscapes (when useful).

    i’ve been hoping to get my hands on Larsson’s work for a while now, and this new novel would be fabulous to receive. thanks!!

    tworboy(at)hotmail(dot)com

  32. August 15, 2009 11:03 pm

    Setting? I think that it matters a great deal. The location can be one of the characters in the novel. I grew up reading Agatha Christie and loved how the action took place in St Mary’s Meade and other small towns. But having moved to NYC a few years ago, I’m amazed at how so much is crammed into a few blocks. I think a large city would be a particularly effective setting for a thriller.

    Thanks so much – this sounds like such a fun read.

    gaby317nyc AT gmail DOT com

  33. August 16, 2009 12:43 pm

    Since I live in NYC, I’ll have to go with big cities, particularly this one. I like knowing exactly where things are supposed to be taking place, it adds a new element to my reading! Thanks for hosting such a great giveaway, I can’t wait to read this trilogy.

    seriously [dot] reading [at] gmail [dot] com

  34. Benita Glickman permalink
    August 17, 2009 1:43 am

    I like big cities with narrow streets. Busy, bustling places. Places to hide, to reappear. Places with many happenings.

    bgcchs(at)yahoo(dot)com

  35. Matt Barth permalink
    August 17, 2009 5:10 pm

    I’m not sure your choice in setting really matters, as long as it doesn’t feel forced. If you’re in Hawaii, don’t mention volcanoes. If you’re in NYC, keep your characters out of the sewers. Setting should lend flavor without distracting the reader from what has happened or is about to happen. Just my two cents. If you want your character to jump a shark, who am I to stop you.

    -MIB

  36. August 17, 2009 5:11 pm

    I kind of like the idea of a city setting. The idea that you could be surrounded by thousands of people and yet still totally alone is interesting. Then again since I grew up in the city, the country freaks me out because its so quiet and dark at night. I also find the idea of being out at sea on a ship or boat. A giant cruise ship. That would be interesting.

Trackbacks

  1. Sunday Salon: Tummy Bugs and Swedish Thugs « Iwriteinbooks's Blog

Leave a Reply

