Skip to content

The Allies ~ Winston Groom

November 29, 2018

Franklin Roosevelt, Winston Churchill, and Joseph Stalin walk into a bar…

I’m kidding. This won’t be that kind of review. Still, though, when reading The Allies, I did have a little bit of little kid, star struck silliness happening. I grew up in a family heavily saturated in military and global history. I have three granddads in the Navy and shelves upon shelves of history books at my disposal even before I could walk.

Groom does the end-of-war complexities to the table in a way that would definitely make all three of my patriarchs proud. His familiarity with both the human and tactical elements of the time period made the entire book feel like I was sitting at the table, eves dropping.

Through a flurry of letters and corresponding actions and communications, the alliance between the three men (and some smaller players, of course) Groom manages to bring his skill as a historian and his magical novelist powers together to create an astoundingly brilliant historical compilation of one of my personal favorite time periods.

Thank you to TLC Book tours for the chance to be on this leg of the tour.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 1, 2018 5:52 pm

    These three men were to different and yet so similar. Like you, I find this part of history completely fascinating!

    Thanks for being on the tour!

Leave a comment