Skip to content

TSS: Don’t Like Banned Books? Don’t Have One…

September 25, 2011

The Sunday Salon.com

I forgot to mention in my cranky post (as described by my mommy), yesterday, that this week (9/24-10/1) is ALA’s Banned Books Week!

There are all sorts of web events going on around the library and book blogging communities so check out the site and play along.

As for what I’ll be doing? I’m still posted up in my bed, a little bit sad that Gavs probably will not, in fact, make his appearance during Banned Books Week (selfish mommy) but enjoying myself, of course.

I’m not sure how I’ll be commemorating, celebrating, hating, I don’t know how to…oh, recognizing. I’m not sure how I’ll be recognizing this week but I thought I’d start the week by sharing my top five from the list of banned books. Now be careful! These are terribly bad for your mental health, or so the banners claim…


Shop Indie Bookstores


Shop Indie Bookstores


Shop Indie Bookstores


Shop Indie Bookstores


Shop Indie Bookstores

Right, so, these are just a few, not including Steinbeck and Fitzgerald (hey, it was his birthday, yesterday!) and many others. I guess it’s safe to say that one has made it as a writer when one’s books are being tossed into the bonfire like all of those martyrs and saints of old. To be great is to be misunderstood and such.

Ah, and now, you will participate by sharing your favorite or one hundred favorite banned books. Ready? Go!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 25, 2011 10:52 am

    I need to read more. I’ve only read one book on this list.

  2. September 25, 2011 11:51 am

    Great list of books! I’m definitely going to have to check these out. 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  3. September 25, 2011 12:06 pm

    What a great post! Some of my favorite banned books: Little Red Riding Hood, The Day No Pigs will Die by Richard Peck, Of Mice and Men by Steinbeck, and The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie.

  4. September 25, 2011 3:08 pm

    I am going to be reading at least one banned book this week, and was lucky enough to start last week with Of Mice and Men on audio. I will be interested in seeing what books everyone else chooses!

  5. September 25, 2011 4:13 pm

    I’ve only read two on your list, but I swear, the better a book is, the more likely it is to be challenged.

Leave a Reply

