Skip to content

BTT: Dogeared

July 7, 2011

btt button

Since my dog is turning 10 today … what animal-related books have you read? Which do you love? Do you have a favorite literary dog? (Snoopy, anyone?)

Oh, I DO love dogs! My two boys (Donnie and Teddy) are above.

And I really do love books. The thing is: I haven’t always loved dog books. While I’m not totally wild about them, I do read them, often, and I have my favorites.

Below are my blog post on dog books but I’ve read many more, over the years. I grew up with at least one dog and, as an adult, I have had no less than two at a time. My husband (and our original two pups) and I have decided that two is our comfortable max but my goodness, no less! I read a good deal of really dry fact-based dog stuff but I also love Jon Katz. He’s not terribly well-versed in the area of pit bulls (he prefers border collies which I just can’t understand!) but tells a very good dog story.

I read The Bark, too, which is a fabulous magazine out of California. They recently published a book titled Dog Is My Co-Pilot which I’m reading in yummy spurts. I don’t think that I have a favorite fictional dog as I have so many real life dog heros (Mike Vick dogs, anyone?) as well as my own to keep my wildly entertained.

Overall, I do prefer my fiction but I have come across some really fabulous nonfiction on my favorite animals. (Please excuse the pit bull obsession.)

14 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2011 7:33 am

    I think Oogy looks promising. I have Marley and Me on the back burner but I have seen the movie.

  2. July 7, 2011 8:19 am

    Never heard of these books, but sound interesting. Here is my BTT.

  3. July 7, 2011 10:18 am

    Happy birthday to your dog! I tread very carefully when I know a dog is in a book. It absolutely has to survive, and all the better if it’s just a humorous aspect of the book, so there isn’t the inevitably tear-jerking focus on the dog. Too emotional for me! :–)

  4. July 7, 2011 10:27 am

    Donny and Teddy are really cool… http://unicornslaststand.blogspot.com/2011/07/dog-days.html

  5. July 7, 2011 10:29 am

    Oh your dogs are beautiful! Great picture! I would love to read Oogy!

    My BTT answer.

  6. July 7, 2011 12:00 pm

    I read Oggy. Good book!
    Here’s My BTT

  7. July 7, 2011 12:39 pm

    I can’t read dog books because they are just too sad for me. They always seem to end the same way, and those abused pit-bull books are just hardest things for me to read. I am a huge dog lover, and have 3 of them, including my precious pit.

  8. July 7, 2011 12:48 pm

    Dog books are always so touching to read about, and great post! πŸ™‚

    Here’s mine:

    http://amylunderman.blogspot.com/2011/07/booking-through-thursday-dog-days.html

  9. July 7, 2011 1:50 pm

    Great picture of your dogs, we just got a new puppy.

    http://tributebooksmama.blogspot.com/2011/07/booking-through-thursday.html

  10. July 7, 2011 6:37 pm

    I seem to read more books with cats in them than dogs. Don’t know why because I do love doggies. Don’t have a dog at the moment because the hubby is a Cat Person, but one of these days I might surprise him!

  11. July 7, 2011 9:34 pm

    Happy birthday to your dog! I love the picture you have of your dogs. I loved The Art of Racing in the Rain and A Dog’s Purpose.

    Give your dog an extra treat from me!

  12. July 7, 2011 10:14 pm

    Donnie and Teddy are beautiful! I haven’t read Oogy yet, but I really want to.

  13. July 8, 2011 12:08 am

    So far, you take the prize as the blogger who’s read the most dog books…at least so far on this blog hop. πŸ™‚

    Hope you’ll stop by and say hello…

    Cindy @ Cindy’s Book Club

  14. July 8, 2011 3:53 pm

    Our little dog will turn ten this year as well πŸ™‚

    My favorite “dog” book recently read, is one where the dog is a main character, as opposed to a book about dogs — Spencer Quinn’s To Fetch a Thief. My favorite thing about the book is Chet the Dog — he’s a great character!

Leave a Reply

