Skip to content

BTT: Well, gee, I didn’t see THAT coming!

January 29, 2010

btt2
Jackie says, “I love books with complicated plots and unexpected endings. What is your favourite book with a fantastic twist at the end?”

So, today’s question is in two parts.

1. Do YOU like books with complicated plots and unexpected endings?

2. What book with a surprise ending is your favorite? Or your least favorite?

Don’t forget to leave a link to your actual response (so people don’t have to go searching for it) in the comments—or if you prefer, leave your answers in the comments themselves!

I love books with complicated plots but not in the pulp fiction sense. I like a good twist, yes. I also like a well woven story where there is less drama and more theoretical manipulation of a storyline. I love surprises (and, in life, as opposed to fiction, I am a bit forgetful and am thus easily surprised). I love hidden meanings and innuendos even in a flat  piece of art never mind a thick novel.

One of my favorite twisted plots is Umberto Eco’s Foucault’s Pendulum. The entire story is a little bit nuts but the ending takes a wild twist. It’s a fantastic story but I can’t even begin to describe it or the mystery will be lost. Check it out. :O)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

