Skip to content

BTT: Meet my good friends…

January 21, 2010

Who’s your favorite author that other people are NOT reading? The one you want to evangelize for, the one you would run popularity campaigns for? The author that, so far as you’re concerned, everyone should be reading–but that nobody seems to have heard of. You know, not JK Rowling, not Jane Austen, not Hemingway–everybody’s heard of them. The author that you think should be that famous and can’t understand why they’re not…


Don’t forget to leave a link to your actual response (so people don’t have to go searching for it) in the comments—or if you prefer, leave your answers in the comments themselves!

I’m never sure who it is I read who will be known or unknown by others. My all time favorites are people who went down in literary history but may not have made it to the block buster list. I love Eco, and Hesse and Sartre who have made many a list for decades but, again, they are not really crowd pleasers. I think people are turned off by the “heaviness” of the writing or the thinking but gosh, they just shouldn’t be!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2010 11:29 am

    Oh no, heaviness is a requirement. Excellent choices! My BTT: http://www.rundpinne.com/2010/01/booking-through-thursday-21-january.html

  2. January 21, 2010 12:35 pm

    Good choices – not unknown but certainly not read much these days. My favorite relatively unknown author is Brian S. Matthews. Here’s my full response.

  3. January 21, 2010 12:59 pm

    Nice answer. Mine is at The Crowded Leaf.

  4. January 21, 2010 2:00 pm

    Haven’t heard of these. Here is mine

  5. January 21, 2010 2:06 pm

    Yes! Especially Eco. I remember in college everybody seemed to read Sartre and Hesse especially, but I don’t see them much in the blogosphere (and honestly haven’t picked up a book by either since college myself….a long time go!).

  6. January 21, 2010 5:27 pm

    I have read all three and agree that they should be read more widely.

Leave a comment