Skip to content

BTT: Booking Pondering

October 8, 2009

btt2

I was wanting to try a certain author and wished I knew someone who had read her works so I could get a recommendation when it occurred to me that having a “YOU ask the question” Booking Through Thursday might be fun. Each participant could ask a question they’ve wanted to discuss with other readers. Perhaps, like me, you’d like a recommendation of a certain author’s best work, or perhaps you LOVE a certain genre or series but no one else you know does and you’d just like to discuss it with someone. Or perhaps you want to try a new genre and would like recommendations from seasoned readers.

This may be a complete and total fallacy, especially among the general world of book bloggers given the types of books blogged but I would really love to have a discussion or discussions with real people about Eco and Pynchon. I don’t want dissertations or themes or stuffiness. They are honestly two of my favorite writers and I think far too few people have read them. I guess, my question would be, “where can I find gobs of people interested in discussing funkier forms of literature without running into the people who care less about the books and more about the pretention of making people think they’ve read such things?”

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jessica Coleman permalink
    October 8, 2009 6:48 pm

    Wow, good question! I think the reason this is a problem is that there’s a long list of underappreciated, “funky” authors who each have a relatively small fan base. You’d almost have to go to fan sites. Or start one!

    Incidentally Nick Hornby’s new book “Juliet, Naked” addresses this same issue from the perspective of the music world.

    I read “The Crying of Lot 49” this year and I’ve got “Inherent Vice” on my shelf for next month. I’ll talk to you. What else do you read? You can dig through my LibraryThing or Goodreads lists and see what we have in common. Links on my blog.

  2. October 9, 2009 5:08 am

    I think the Literary Snobs group (http://www.librarything.com/groups/literarysnobs) on LibraryThing are quite into type of literature you mention, but they do sometimes suffer from episodes of pretentiousness. The arguments and discussions are always lively and thought provoking; I’ve added many a book to the to-be-read pile because it has been championed over there.

    I agree completely. It can be so difficult to find a community that has just the right fit. Good luck in your endeavours!

  3. October 9, 2009 9:44 am

    I think net is a great place to look out for people who have similar tastes in books. Try Yahoo groups.

    Booking Through Discussions

Leave a Reply

