Skip to content

Things Remembered ~ Georgia Bockoven

November 8, 2012

20121110-063704.jpg

Genre: Women’s Fiction
Publisher: William Morrow & Company
384 pages
ISBN: 9780062195166
Source: Publisher via TLC Book Tours

Navigating the waters of adult sisterhood is a tricky task in the best of situations. When the added trauma of parental loss early in life is added in, the waves crash choppier and rougher upon the journey’s vessel.

In the case of Things Remembered, the more complicated element is the one afoot. Though her sisters, Heather am Grace, also experienced the same loss, Karla is the one who takes the emotionally upset cake for this ride. She finds herself back in the home of their childhood guardian grandmother, Anna, sorting through life and feelings in a rather wrenching way.

The story is set and told through this stage and is one that will pull most heart strings even if the reader’s own experiences are off the specific mark.

The dedication Bockoven takes to crafting each character, as well as each manifestation of relationship, is one I am glad to have come across. She is a new name for me, though I can not, for the life of me, tell you how it’s taken me this long to come across it.

I have found myself increasingly drawn toward “women’s fiction” as I get older. My mom always fears that I’m working through some sort of trauma that she could have avoided but I think that it’s quite the opposite. Rest assured, mama! I think that because of the strog bond I have with my mom, sister and maternal grandmother, I have been drawn to stories that mirror, parallel or even stray from (in a somewhat related way) familial female connections. Not because ours is bad but because it’s strong and I like to explore it.

I loved this and I think many others will, too. Check it out and let me know what you think!


About Georgia

Georgia Bockoven is an award-winning author who began writing fiction after a successful career as a freelance journalist and photographer. Her books have sold more than four million copies worldwide. The mother of two, she resides in Northern California with her husband, John.

20121110-064201.jpg

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 17, 2012 7:36 pm

    I’m sure your mom is glad to be reassured that you aren’t dealing with any trauma! 🙂

    Thanks for being on the tour. I’m glad to see how much you enjoyed this read.

Leave a comment