Skip to content

A Face for…the Bookshelf?

May 5, 2011

btt button

And–the reverse of last week’s question. Name one book that you hope never, ever, ever gets made into a movie (no matter how good that movie might be).

Well, let’s see, any book that I like, I suppose. No, no, that’s not really fair. I don’t hate movies that much, I will say, though, that Gone with the Wind, The Time Traveler’s Wife and a few others were among my favorite books but also among my least favorite movies.

And, on second thought, I have, in fact, found one that I had hoped would never see the light of the silver screen. The Hunger Games, I will say, is going to be a bit of a disappointment; I’m almost one hundred percent sure.

I think that some books, most books, really, should be left well enough alone. My husband thinks the opposite: that there are far more good movies than there are books. He was a film major; I was a political science major. They say opposites attract!  (I will admit to enjoying anything by the Coen Brothers, though, just as he will read most things by Michio Kaku.)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2011 7:52 am

    hee hee, I know what you mean. It didn’t occur to me to talk about scene’s that I don’t mind reading but can’t watch.

    I am with you on the Hunger Games front. I think it’s going to be a big disappointment too. I also agree that the film industry should leave books alone. I am no film expert (I studies history and politics) but I always felt that using so many books lacked imagination. They are relying on someone elses imagination to get that Oscar winning movie.

  2. May 5, 2011 8:45 am

    I also would prefer that The Hunger Games not be made into a movie, and don’t know if I will go see it. I want Katniss and her adventures to stay pristine the way that I imagined them, and from what I have seen about the casting, I know they are already planning on changing things.

    I am not really sure I would like to see any books made into movies, because like you, I think the book is almost always better.

  3. Gene permalink
    May 5, 2011 5:03 pm

    ‘The Paris Wife”, http://www.quipsty.com/card/?id=pariswife.
    It could be a great movie material?

  4. May 5, 2011 9:37 pm

    I’m very curious how The Hunger Games is going to turn out. I can’t imagine them making it as violent as the book. I’ll be going out of curiosity. And it is very hard to make a movie that lives up to the book, but when they get it right, it can be magical.

  5. Chelsea permalink
    May 6, 2011 2:11 pm

    I couldn’t agree more with the Hunger Games – I had hoped they’d leave it alone, knowing fully all the while that they couldn’t NOT make a movie out of it, given how popular it was. But I have to, with all do respect, disagree with Gone with the Wind – mostly because it won my last week’s BTT of the best book-movie screen translation (of course, as good as can be, as the movie can never be as good as the book).

  6. May 6, 2011 9:06 pm

    Yeah, I’d probably say that I wouldn’t want to see just about any book that I loved made into a movie.

Leave a comment