Skip to content

Something Old, Something New

February 24, 2011

btt button

All other things being equal–do you prefer used books? Or new books? (The physical speciman, that is, not the title.) Does your preference differentiate between a standard kind of used book, and a pristine, leather-bound copy?

Don’t forget to leave a link to your actual response (so people don’t have to go searching for it) in the comments—or if you prefer, leave your answers in the comments themselves!

I, generally, don’t care what a book looks like if I am borrowing it from a friend or reading it from the library. I do prefer to have a somewhat intact copy that it still, you know, readable, for my own bookshelves because I do like to lend my books and I like for them to start out with a descent platform before they begin to be passed around.

That said, I have never been a big fan of the leather bound books, simply for show. As the blog title states, I like to write in books (though, I don’t do that as much, any more, preferring to jot notes on a pad or stickies) and I like to dog-ear and “love” my books a bit. The idea of something I can’t really lug around, for safe-keeping purposes, doesn’t exactly appeal to me.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2011 7:55 am

    Don’t really buy books ‘by the cover’
    Beyond the Lone Islands

  2. February 24, 2011 9:27 am

    I used post-it’s to mark passages in books and use a notebook to record comments in order not to mark in my book but it can be amusing to read someone else’s comments. I also used bookmarks and try not to dog ear the book.

  3. February 24, 2011 9:48 am

    Yep, yep, leather-bound books are impractical and are goo for collectors.

    Ayanami Faerudo @ Whatever You Can Still Betray

  4. February 24, 2011 10:27 am

    I do have a variety of feelings about this topic, as my books include both old and new ones. Here’s MY BTT POST

  5. February 24, 2011 11:31 am

    Oooh the one thing I cannot stand is when people turn down the corners of the pages. I don’t know why I hate it so much I just do.
    Sally.
    http://theelifylop.blogspot.com/2011/02/booking-through-thursday-7.html

    • February 24, 2011 12:01 pm

      Haha I love doing it. It feels like I’m interacting with a book. I also like to quote books so it makes it easier to come back. It’s why reading borrowed, library or e-books drives me NUTS!

  6. February 24, 2011 1:56 pm

    Love the idea of starting with a book that is structurally sound enough to pass around to friends!

  7. February 24, 2011 2:14 pm

    I really like the feel of a brand new book, but am not opposed to buying used. The only thing I really hate is when I buy a used book and there is writing and highlighting all over it. I don’t ever write in my books, and prefer to make notes in a notebook, so this drives me crazy, but it usually only happens when I am buying over the internet.

  8. February 24, 2011 3:37 pm

    I used to write in my books a lot, but I’ve gotten out of the habit since lately I’ve been getting most of my books from the library. I like your idea of using post its. I’m with you on trying to lug around leather bound copies … not really worth it …

  9. February 24, 2011 4:09 pm

    I totally agree with you. Here’s mine:
    http://thebucketlist-gn.blogspot.com/2011/02/booking-through-thursday-and-third_24.html
    Happy reading!

  10. February 24, 2011 6:11 pm

    New trade paperback is my preference.

  11. February 24, 2011 8:05 pm

    I don’t often write in books though I have a friend who goes through each book, as she reads it, and blacks out profanity with a black marker. I might highlight a passage in a reference book or a book I am preparing a review for. It makes it easier to include passages that struck me at the time of reading.

    Here’s my response to this week’s question at BTT.

  12. Dutchie permalink
    February 24, 2011 10:53 pm

    I’m not a big fan of leather bound either. I do have special books, but not because they’re leather and then leather goes and falls apart anyway so what’s the point?

    One thing I can’t stand is writing in them though! Yet when I come across a used book that’s had notes written in the front or margins, I like to think about where the book has been and why that person was making notes.

  13. February 25, 2011 9:43 am

    While I don’t like writing in my books, I am not really a fan of leather-bound books. It’s harder to carry them around, and I’m not as comfortable reading them as with a paperback. My full answer is here. 🙂

  14. February 25, 2011 11:35 pm

    I don’t like the big heavy leather books … I think they are hard to read and uncomfortable.

    • February 27, 2011 9:49 am

      While I don’t like big classic volumes, I’ve found some comfort in reading a nice, thick, new hard cover on occasion. :O)

Trackbacks

  1. Booking Through Thursday – Joy's Book Blog

Leave a comment