Skip to content

BTT: Picking and Choosing

August 2, 2012

btt button

Two questions about selecting your books.

Pooch asks:

Overall, what factor most influences your choice of your next read?

I have so many books on my shelves and nightstand that are just waiting for the perfect timing. Sometimes I need a mystery, sometimes I need a fun YA, sometimes I need a very intellectual read. Each book comes into its own eventually but until then, it waits in the wings.

Sefcug asks:

What is it that makes you want to read a book by an author you have never read before?

This, almost one hundred percent, depends on word of mouth. Sometimes publishers will suggest a review or I’ll get a tour for a new (or new to me) author. I love finding new favorites but this isn’t the time of year for them as there are so many new books from old writers like my very most favorite of all…Tana French!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2012 12:08 pm

    A lot of my reading is influenced by what I have in my mailbox, and also by word of mouth. When I read a really great review, often it will spur me to go out and buy the book, and read it right away. Other than that, my reading is pretty much dictated by tours, review copies and mood.

  2. August 2, 2012 1:37 pm

    Yes, sometimes you just need a fun book 🙂

    http://carabosseslibrary.blogspot.com/2012/08/booking-through-thursday.html

  3. August 2, 2012 5:30 pm

    Looking over my own reading, I think a lot of my finds come from reviews and from browsing around my library though I don’t do it often enough.

Leave a Reply

