Skip to content

Brave Old World

June 23, 2012

When I was little, I adored the old story of Atalanta which you should definitely read and/or watch if you haven’t. Free to Be You and Me has a kid-friendly version, here:

What I didn’t know, until recently, is that the original story, has bear pieces to it.

This, of course, will lead you to believe that I am not a complete and total random nutcase, rambling on about nothing. This is all simply a lead up to my raving about Disney-Pixar’s most recent masterpiece: Brave. It follows the same model of Atalanta which is lovely in and of itself.

Add in the magic of old Scotland done by the talented minds and hands at Pixar and you’ve got yourself a nice little treat!

For those with young ones, wondering if it’s a little bit adult with the bears and such, I took two four-year olds, yesterday and while they squirmed and squealed at the right moments, they both gave it rave reviews and are still talking about it, this morning. It also has the requisite adult humor and entertainment factor now famous in Disney’s repertoire.

I highly recommend this to all ages as a cool activity when the summer sun gets to be too much.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 23, 2012 7:19 pm

    I’m excited to see this one. I’ve never heard of Atalanta before, though. 😦

Leave a Reply

