Skip to content

BTT: If I Could I Would But I Don’t Know How

May 17, 2012

btt button
A while ago, I interviewed my readers for a change, and my final question was, “What question have I NOT asked at BTT that you’d love me to ask?” I got some great responses and will be picking out some of the questions from time to time to ask the rest of you. Like now.

abookandashortlatte1 asks

If you had to choose to live within a novel, which would it be?

Oh, this is a tough one. I tend to read a lot of books that take place abroad or involve travel so that makes the decision hard. I think that out of the recent past, I’d pick The Bungalow (1940′s Bora Bora, anyone?) or The Scorpio Races (something about Irish cliffs and magic that just does not say “uncool” to me). Now both of the stories, themselves, had seriously violent and disturbing elements but the settings in each are just, um, to die for.

As far as pure story line, I’d pick anything by Libba Bray. Her Gemma Doyle series is still one of my favorites and Going Bovine, frankly is my favorite.

Character wise? Well, obviously, I’d pick to be Rob Jordan in For Whom the Bell Tolls. But that’s just par for the course, right? Right.

Basically, I’d be a white male created white male character in war-torn Spain, transported to the setting of a chick-lit book with the plotline of a YA novel. There’s a reason my mom calls me her little anomaly.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2012 9:46 am

    I haven’t read an of the books you choose but they sound great, especially The Bungalow (I would love 1940′s Bora Bora!) See my answer here
    Happy reading!

  2. zibilee permalink
    May 17, 2012 11:23 am

    I love this answer! If I had to live in between the pages of a book, I think I would choose to be one of the literary detectives in the Thursday Next series, though I it might be dangerous at times.

  3. pinkiepieskitchen permalink
    May 17, 2012 12:18 pm

    What an awesome answer!! I love Libba Bray!

    Here’s my response: http://blueeggbooks.blogspot.com/2012/05/booking-through-thursday.html

  4. May 17, 2012 1:33 pm

    That would be a very interesting read indeed! I’m not sure what I would pick. I love mystery and adventure but I don’t think I would want to live between the pages of a mystery or thriller!

  5. May 17, 2012 3:19 pm

    See, I am HORRIBLE at answering these types of questions! I like your answers. I love murder mystery books but I hate to be in danger myself, and some of my favorite atmospheric novels (Scorpio Races is a good one) are full of danger. Or heartache and angst – like Pat Conroy novels. I have no answer, but I’m going to think about it.

  6. May 17, 2012 4:27 pm

    Yeah these questions are hard, but I’m all for a romantic comedy type story with a happy ending, that’s where I’ll be. Here’s my BTT

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

