Skip to content

Everything I Know About Parenting, I Learned from Monsters: Thanks Maurice

May 11, 2012

I know everyone (in real life, not in the blogging world; I’m not delusional!) has been anxiously awaiting mention of Maurice’s passing. Truth be told, I’ve been too busy with my kids and with my books to acknowledge one of the very reasons I decided to start reading or have kids in the first place.

Where the Wild Things Are is, hands down, my favorite children’s book. It trumps Stella Luna, by far for its sheer fun. Some people might not like it. It, of course, has a little boy mouthing off to his mom. It also has a little boy imagining running off to romp with monsters. Some might think this is scary and should not be taught to children.

 

 

 



I tell you what, though. Little boys, no matter how sweet or well-behaved? Mouth off to their parents. Especially four year olds. They limit test and push boundaries and then (sometimes even literally) still ask if you love them.  They, also, are perfectly capable tof coming up with fears on their own even if you go far out of your way to avoid all monsters and icky, sticky, spikey, horrible creatures.

Monsters are fun in our house and we can always win in a fight or a dream when confronted with one.  We even work on the concept of comforting monsters and not actually hurting them since they are creatures, too.  Limit testing is also fun in our house, or at least, it’s certainly something we spend a lot of time doing (sigh).

At the end of the day, though, we all pretty much agree that coming home to warm dinner and a snuggle is probably the best option for all.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2012 11:09 am

    I never read this book as a child, or had it read to me, so I feel like I’ve missed out. I need to read it at some point, as I know it’s a classic, with amazing artwork. I love the monster poses!

  2. May 11, 2012 11:43 am

    He is SO, SO big now!

  3. May 15, 2012 10:55 am

    Terrific post! You are a great mommy and your children are precious! The author gave so much joy to my children, too, when they were little.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

