Skip to content

Wow….How Did I Miss This?

May 4, 2012

I’m usually a big Book Prize fan but things have been crazy this spring and so I missed the Pulitzer announcement. I’ve always wondered what would hapeen if I didn’t sit on the edge of my seat, watiting for the announcement, some year. Apparently, there isn’t a winner. That’s right: there was a three way tie or, effectively no tie for the fiction prize this year. The board was given 3 books, whittled down from over three hundred given to the pannel. After all of that work, the board reported that they just couldn’t decide on a final.

NPR reports that the three choices selected by the pannel were given in the event that people really needed to have a winner:

“Swamplandia!” by Karen Russell
Train Dreams,” by Denis Johnson
“The Pale King,” by the late David Foster Wallace

Sorry, y’all. Guess next year I should pay more attention. Yikes!

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 5, 2012 2:01 pm

    I was a little surprised that there wasn’t a winner. I don’t really have the urge to read any of these except Train Dreams. What about you?

Leave a Reply

