Skip to content

So You Read But What If You Wrote?

April 11, 2012

Since the time I could write, I’ve been putting stories on paper. None of them have amounted to very much in terms of publication but I have journals and notebooks and stacks of things filled with snippets and ideas. Who knows if these little bits and pieces will ever come around to a solid book but I still like to dream.

These day, I mostly think about writing a dark satirical comedy about the world of private preschool. Obviously, I tend to write what I know and believe me, I have lots of “fun” stories banked up in this area! I think writing about my sister-in-law’s bakery would be a laugh a minute, too, but there wouldn’t be so much creative fiction going on there as that place just fuels the drama fire all on its lonesome.

I often wonder if my fellow book bloggers would ever flip the page and start writing fiction.

Oh, so, hey, my fellow book bloggers! Have you thought about it? If you were to write the Great American Novel, what would it be about?  Have you thought about it?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2012 11:15 am

    I am a writer first and foremost. 🙂 In fact I thihk it’s what made me start reading, because I did it and wanted to see if I was on the right track. So this is hard to answer. I’ve written tons of manuscripts of all different kinds–fantasy, urban fantasy, supsense, contemporary. Even biography if you count school papers? What would I probably try that I haven’t? Maybe historical fiction. Write if you want to and don’t let anyone stop you, I say. If you’ve got old notebooks with ideas that’s a good indication that you might want to try flipping the page. 😉

  2. April 15, 2012 12:21 pm

    I used to write when I was younger but it’s seems that I’ve lost my voice. There’s so much that I’m interested in, I wouldn’t know where to start if I decided to write!

  3. April 15, 2012 1:36 pm

    I’ve thought about it (have it on my list of things to do when my kids leave home) but I doubt I will ever actually do it. I am an accountant by trade, not a writer. I just don’t really have the confidence! But you are so right, you could totally go to town on the private preschool…kids and parents. I could probably give you two dozen stories of just what my son did.

  4. April 15, 2012 8:53 pm

    Oh I’ve thought about it but nothing ever seems “good enough.”

Leave a Reply

