Skip to content

Elegy for Eddie – Jacqueline Winspear

March 30, 2012


Genre: Adult Fiction/Mystery
Publisher: Harper
352pp.
ISBN: 9780062049575
Source: Publisher via TLC Book Tours

Most serial books do move forward in time but I find that they are either macro or micro. That is to say that they are about the history of time itself, large scale, or they are about the minutes or days passing in a way that neither effects history nor is it effected by history.

For this reason, I adore the Maisie Dobbs books as they manage to pay significant attention to the passage of time yet always stays in the moment with respect to the characters and their lives. This is particularly fun for me in this case as at this point in the series, we are rolling, full steam ahead intone second world war.

Of course the rise of The Axis powers is not the man focus of the story, really. In fact, it’s Maisie’s past, not her present, that is the focus, here. Her most recent case is centered around the untimely death of a young man from her childhood town. A sweet but simple man, gifted with horses turns up dead after a factory “accident”. When his friends, all childhood neighbors of Maisie’s, decide to investigate further, they ask their favorite local girl made good for help.

What ensues is a multilayered adventure in power, politics and press as people fade into the shadows and come out of the woodwork to make this tale one of Winspear’s best, yet.

I have to say that this stands out as one of my favorite Maisie stories. Maybe it’s because it’s been such a long time since I’ve had the chance to sink my teeth into one of her stories but I think it’s more due to the fact that it’s just that good.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 1, 2012 11:58 pm

    I can’t believe I haven’t made time for this series yet – I KNOW I will totally fall for Maisie.

    Thanks for being on the tour!

Leave a Reply

