Skip to content

BTT: To Be or Not To Be

March 29, 2012

btt button

Ted and Sarah both asked similar questions about relating to characters:

Ted asks:

‘Are there any fictional characters whom you have emulated (or tried to)? Who and why?’

Bookish Sarah asks an interesting assortment of questions:

‘What literary character do you feel is most like you personality-wise (explain)?’

Oh, well, you know, it’s funny because I think of these as almost opposite questions. There are characters I would love to be or at least would like to possess half of their cool or bravery. Then there are those who I find that I am the most  like even when I don’t really wish that to be the case.

I think that I have recently found myself envious of Maisie Dobbs or Flavia de Luce. They’re both British crime fighters though they’re about as different as can be. Maisie is just so darn organized and earnest. Flavia is almost the opposite but is snarky and hilarious. I would love to be either one or a mix of both. Also, I want half of their adventure, my goodness!

As far as being the most like a character, I’m probably a little bit like Hermione in a frizzy haired, bossy, overly nerdy, over-read sort of way. So I’m a big old geek without the magic or Ron. Maybe that’s less flattering than it first appears but no less true!

Oh, wow, and I’m apparently seriously British according to all of these ladies.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2012 10:07 am

    I love Flavia! But could never emulate her — she’s much sharper than I am! And braver, too.

  2. March 29, 2012 11:35 am

    I wouldnt worry about it, I’m a bit like Hermione too. I think its a good thing 😀

  3. March 29, 2012 12:35 pm

    I’d like to be like Hermione, but I don’t think I am as well read as all that. I am not sure who I am like. I think I have yet to discover a fictional character who reminds me of me!

  4. March 29, 2012 12:53 pm

    If you’re like Hermione you are magic! Can’t do anything about the Ron though…

  5. March 29, 2012 2:10 pm

    LOL, Hermione is so coolhttp://carabosseslibrary.blogspot.com/2012/03/booking-through-thursday_29.html, though 🙂

  6. March 29, 2012 5:22 pm

    LOL! I love Hermione so I fail to see the problem. 😉

Leave a Reply

