Skip to content

When in Rome…

March 23, 2012

So I’m not a big movie person which is odd considering my husband has his undergraduate degree in film. We manage to make things work, though.

Speaking of things working, let’s discuss this little tiny film I saw, today. You might have heard of it, although you probably don’t know that there’s a book, too. It’s called The Hunger Games.

Right, then. I have this weird perspective, this time, that I’ve never had before when going into a movie franchise based on a book series. With Twilight and Harry Potter and most other things of this nature, I’ve always seen the first movie, then gotten hooked enough to run out and buy the books. This one, was different.

Something like, what, three years ago? The first book in the series was buzzing around the blogosphere so I ended up checking it out of the library. I read it on vacation, that summer, in one day. Then I passed it on to my sister-in-law who also read it in one day. Needless to say, we were hooked. But then, no one else had heard of it, you know? I mean, my blogging buddies, yes. Normal people? No. I forced it on everyone I knew but it still didn’t spread far or wide or anywhere fast.

Then, oh, then, there was movie buzz. At first, I was, to be honest, pissed. I thought Collins had done such a fantastic job that it shouldn’t be touched. As the movie date approached, however, and I began to see clips and I saw Jennifer Lawrence in action, I started to get more excited than fearful.

Well, yesterday, the movie and I met and oh did we meet. I think I ultimately would still hold the book up as “better” but I think it’s one of the only movie adaptations I’ve seen, in, oh, ever, that I’ll call worthy of existing. I think the only other one that stands a chance (hey maybe they’re getting better at this concept) was last month’s The Lorax.  Jennifer Lawrence was unstoppable. She was actually even better than I’d imagined Katniss. Everyone else was well cast but I have to say that Lenny Kravitz as Cinna and Woody Harrelson as Haymitch were two of my favorite casting jobs in the history of casting jobs. Just perfect.

Over all, the movie was fabulous. Again, the book is obviously going to be better but sometimes I just like to let other people do my picture thinking for me. You know, like when you read and you have to imagine what everything looks like? Movies do that for you and sometimes it’s nice to just sit back and look.  Any way, do go see it if you’ve read it but please, for the love of God, do read it before you run off to see it!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2012 9:15 am

    I went and saw it today too. My thoughts will be up tomorrow, but mostly it is relief that the movie makers didn’t bugger it up. I liked most of the casting, and I will be waiting for Catching Fire!

  2. March 24, 2012 9:02 pm

    I’ve been hearing that the movie kicks butt … and Jennifer Lawrence is awesome as Katniss. I can’t wait to see it!!!!

Leave a Reply

