Skip to content

BTT: Read This. Do this.

March 15, 2012

btt button
A while ago, I interviewed my readers for a change, and my final question was, “What question have I NOT asked at BTT that you’d love me to ask?” I got some great responses and will be picking out some of the questions from time to time to ask the rest of you. Like now.

Ted asks:

Have you ever used a book to instruct someone of something or is there anyone for whom you would like to do that? (I don’t mean a text book for a class, but a work of fiction or non-fiction that would get a certain message across either through plot or character). What is the book and what do you wish to impart?

 

I think I’ve only used books in that way if I want people to like or understand a certain style or philosophy. I think that recommending Sartre or Hesse in explaining existentialism is probably as far as I’ve gone on that front. I suppose I’ve also recommended The Hunger Games around to explain the very best in current war-based satire. Aside from that, though, I haven’t really done much in that area. I think I’ve passed around a few of my favorite pregnancy books but those tend to be more neutral info, plain old science books than anything else. It’s an interesting idea, for sure and one I’ll have to think about going forward, though, for right now, I can’t say that I’ve done much in this area.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2012 12:10 pm

    OMG that picture made me laugh lol. I’ve recommended everyone read Hunger Games before watching the movie. Here’s my BTT

  2. March 15, 2012 12:15 pm

    Fun picture. When it was time for my first child to receive his first bath, I called my Mother-in-law, and asked her to come show me how to give the baby a bath. I was young and didn’t know the first thing about bathing a baby. ; ))

  3. March 15, 2012 5:17 pm

    I recommend books all the time, it’s part of my job, and I always hope that the readers “get” something from it. But, if it’s fiction and well done, it shoulnd’t feel like a lesson.

  4. March 16, 2012 1:06 pm

    That graphic is hilarious!!

  5. March 16, 2012 3:51 pm

    Love the photo!! Haha! I agree about the philosophical bit!

    Here’s my BTT: http://blueeggbooks.blogspot.com/2012/03/booking-through-thursday_16.html

Leave a Reply

