Skip to content

Pandemonium ~ Lauren Oliver

March 14, 2012


Genre: Young Adult Fiction/Dystopian
Publisher: HarperCollins
384 pages
ISBN: 9780061978067
Source: Bookstore

Oh you hunky, heart fluttering teen dystopian romance, why must you always tug at my emotions so?

Though nothing has truly been new since the dawn of time, on the satire front, at least not since Orwell and his fantastic farm, I still love that we write about this stuff. When reading Lauren Oliver’s most recent installment, I called up every Hunger Games, Divergent, etc., evaluation of our society as told through terribly clichéd, overused metaphors.

So did I hate it?

No! I flipping loved it!

When Delirium ended, I thought it ended perfectly as a single, not a series. I had no idea where Oliver would go, following such a tightly cut and wrapped finish. Because of this, I feel like I enjoyed Pandemonium that much more as it had to completely recreate itself in order to match up to the first. And that it did! It, of course, has a bit of that “here’s the new boss, same as the old boss” business but didn’t get completely sucked into proving that point.

I think that, overtime, I’m finding that Orwell and now Collins (of course) are the standard by which I judge all political science fiction. This one measures up in the second for some great crowd scenes and fabulous conspiracy theories. I would love to give an entire breakdown of the second book but I want everyone to promise me that they’ll go read Delirium first so I can  continue without spoiling the whole first book of lead in.

Overall, a great second offering. No sophomore slump, here!


2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2012 12:33 pm

    I am so glad that you loved this one! I haven’t read the first one yet, but am hoping to get my hands on both of them and have a little mini readathon over a weekend. Glad to hear that this one lives up to the first!

  2. March 14, 2012 1:32 pm

    Oh I loved Delirium! But unlike you, I freaking threw the book at the end because I thought it was a stand-alone and WHAT THE HELL!!!??? Total left me flapping in the wind. So I have Pandy, and if I can work through a couple of other books, I will be reading it forthwith. I cannot wait.

Leave a Reply

