Skip to content

I Am Half-Sick of Shadows ~ Alan Bradley

March 2, 2012


Genre: Adult Fiction/Mystery
Publisher: Delacorte Press
320 pages
ISBN: 9780385344012
Source: Bookstore
It’s just before Christmas and the snow has come to Bishop’s Lacey.

The de Luce estate is in need of repair and the de Luce family is need of an inheritance, soon, or they’ll have to pack it up for a tiny townhouse in London.

Out of the blue, an offer comes from a film house. The de Luces will be compensated generously if their homestead can be used for the filming. The de Luce clan immediately agrees. What could be more perfect for two teenagers? Flavia’s sisters are all in a twitter, excited to see their favorite silver screen residents in their own house.

Flavia, of course, isn’t terribly keen on flashy starlets until one of them winds up dead.

In a housebound rendition of Agatha Christie’s Murder on the Orient Express, it’s up to our usual heroes to figure out just who (cast, crew, villagers) is to be held responsible for this yuletide murder.

Perhaps it’s because everything is better around the holidays but goodness, I have to say that this, no this, I promise, is the best Flavia de Luce book, yet! For some reason the whole story just worked. I think it was the nod to the Orient Express, the trapped suspect pool and the idea of the murderer snowed in with the rest of the crew. It also just seemed a bit deeper in terms of substance and Flavia’s exploration of motives.

There were many characters revisited in this chapter as the idea was to have everyone from the film company and from the town in the house for a show right before everyone was snowed in and, subsequently, right before the murder. Any who, I did love it and I’m super sad that there isn’t another installment coming out until sometime next year.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2012 7:32 am

    I only read the first one of these recently. I am very much looking forward to reading more.

  2. March 3, 2012 8:56 pm

    I’ve only read the first one in this series and while I liked it, I really had no huge desire to read more of them. This one does interest me. The whole, snowed in thing, sounds fun.

  3. March 5, 2012 4:21 pm

    I thought this was a good one. It cracked me up how she was trying to catch Father Christmas.

Leave a Reply

