Skip to content

BTT: I Can Haz Hot Books Pleaz?

March 1, 2012

btt button
A while ago, I interviewed my readers for a change, and my final question was, “What question have I NOT asked at BTT that you’d love me to ask?” I got some great responses and will be picking out some of the questions from time to time to ask the rest of you. Like now.

Ted asks:

Have you ever fallen in love with a fictional character? Who and what about them did you love?


I think my favorite, recently has been Gale from The Hunger Games. Though he didn’t end up as perfect as I would have liked, for most of the trilogy he was, you know, like to die for swoon-worthy. He was tall, dark and handsome but in a rebel with a very serious, subverting the dominant paradigm cause. He also loved Katniss as a friend as well as a lover, where I feel like most of the other teen romance shenanigans pull the mushy stuff first.


I think that my first lit-crush ever was either Johnny from The Outsiders or Rhett Butler from Gone with the Wind. Yes, that was in eighth grade, and no, that’s not why I eventually moved to Atlanta. Really. But seriously, who didn’t love him, hello? By the way, I totally wrote a term paper on how and why Gone with the Wind and The Outsiders are exactly the same story but that’s a tale for a different day. Or never.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2012 2:51 pm

    Gale’s a great choice.
    Check out my answer here

  2. March 1, 2012 4:51 pm

    Gale’s not a bad choice 🙂 I have crushes too.

  3. March 1, 2012 5:38 pm

    I love your answers and have to admit that I had a little crush on Gale as well. I thought that he was the right man for Katniss….

  4. March 1, 2012 9:20 pm

    That last two crack me up … they could not BE more different!!!

  5. March 1, 2012 9:30 pm

    LOL! Now I really want to get to The Outsiders.

  6. March 2, 2012 1:28 am

    What a great answer! I remember having a crush on Johnny when I was a teen. 🙂

Leave a Reply

