Skip to content

Two Truths and A Lie ~ Sara Shepard

February 27, 2012


Genre: Young Adult Fiction
Publisher: Harper Teen
294 pages
ISBN: 9780061869747
Source: Bookstore

Emma and Sutton are back for round three, tangled up in clues and red herrings as usual. This time, their friend Madeline’s runaway brother and town bad boy, Thayer, is the prime suspect. He’s been gone longer than Sutton and rumor has it, the two were involved in some pretty risky behavior before either one went MIA. Now, Thayer has resurfaced, alive if not quite shiny and new, and Emma has to figure out if he’s a lover in mourning or an ex-lover, licking his savagely cut wounds, before he outs her secret, or ends her whole game, for good.

This latest chapter in the Lying Game series was far and away my favorite. We’re getting to the deep bottom of Sutton’s memory and Emma is wrapped up more than ever in the drama of Hollier , for better or for worse. Thayer is not my typical lit crush (I’m not one for the bad boy but he’s a total soccer playing hottie!) but his character is by far the best drawn out player we’ve seen so far. He’s a hottie to hate, though, in this installment and I can’t say much more. Just know that the series is picking up rather than falling into a slump, thank goodness.

The only gripe I have with the books as a whole collection is that sometimes Sutton and Emma get a bit tangled in terms of voice, perspective and tense. As a general concept, it works well, over all; I just have to stop and reread occasionally when Sutton starts adding in her thoughts over Emma’s third person visuals.

I can not believe I have to wait until this summer to finish out the case. Once again, this is why I can’t handle a series until every last piece has been published; if it’s worth reading, I want to read it in one big gulp, not wait around for it! I know; I’m a brat. I’ll sit back and wait but you must know that I don’t want to.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2012 6:18 pm

    My daughter read the first one and loved it. I’m outta the loop, because I didn’t know there were three! I’ll have to let her know.

  2. February 28, 2012 12:33 pm

    I haven’t read any of the books in this series, but you make them sound so interesting and like something that I might enjoy. I also tend to hold off on books in a series until the series is complete, or else I drive myself crazy looking forward to the next installment!

Leave a Reply

