Skip to content

BTT: Who or What?

December 15, 2011

What’s more important to you? Real, three-dimensional, fleshed-out fascinating characters? Or an amazing, page-turning plot?

(Yes, I know, they are both important. But if you had to pick one as being more important than the other?)

As mentioned, both are important. However, I think that depending on he purpose of the story, each one takes center stage for different reasons. If I’m reading a mystery or thriller, I obviously need some character building but the main focus of the action will be, well, just that: the action. If I’m reading a literary piece or a romance, he plot is much less important than the building of the people.

I tend to think that most stories are a little cheesy and prefer books that have more of a philosophical trend to them. This often lends itself to what I think people call “character development” but some folks need something to “happen” for people to grow. I don’t.

So I suppose, when all is said and done, I’m more of a character sucker but I do like a good roller coaster every now and again.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2011 12:43 pm

    I think your answer is right on target. For me, it depends on the book, but I tend to enjoy more character development in the books I read. I am sometimes not bothered by the fact that the plot is thin in certain books that I read, but the perfect book has a good mix of both. Great question and answer today!

  2. December 16, 2011 3:29 pm

    I am a little tormented by this question. I would have always answered “character”, but here lately I’ve read a couple of characters books that have virtually NO PLOT and I’ve been bored out of my mind. So maybe I just learned something about myself that I don’t like. Or maybe it was just those particular authors. All I know is that if the characters are bland, you can throw all kinds of stuff at me…murder, mayhem, affairs, fist-fights, whatever…I’m going to be bored with that too.

Leave a Reply

