Skip to content

Olive the Other Reindeer…

December 11, 2011

The Sunday Salon.com

So, I’m not a huge Christmas person. Yes, I get it: most people, especially these days, like it simply “for the family”. I, however, tend to gather my family whenever suits me (even if I have to track them down on sporadic trips to various corners of the earth), am not even a teensy bit religious, don;t like snow and am not much for material things (aside from books, my iPhone and the boys’ mutually owned Glowy).

The other day I mentioned feeling warm and fuzzy while listening to just about the only Christmas music I can handle (Andrea Bocelli). I actually have two more songs to add to that:

Yeah, did you catch the last part of the Jack song? Fabulous. We, personally, celebrate a very modern tribute to the winter solstice, finding warmth and happiness in the cold and dark, in our house. I always love listening to the traditions other people have when it comes to the holidays (or anything, really). Whatever you celebrate, have a happy one but remember that you need to treat all of the reindeer well, even when they don’t have shiny noses…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 11, 2011 6:54 pm

    I love Barenaked Ladies holiday album, they make the holiday fun and stress free.

  2. December 12, 2011 1:22 pm

    I know what you man about Christmas. Usually I am full of holiday cheer and glad tidings, but this was a hard year for us as a family, and I am just not feeling it. At least I know I can come back over and over to this post and cheer myself up with these videos! Thanks for posting them!

  3. December 12, 2011 3:39 pm

    Good post. The intro had me right away. I feel the same. Alas.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

