Skip to content

BTT: Love and Mystery

December 8, 2011

btt button

All things being equal, which would you prefer–a mystery? Or a love story?

Oh, I would definitely prefer a story with both elements, sillies! But if I had to pick one, I would say that a mystery is far more fun. Right now, I’m on a very uncharacteristic biography kick. In any life, there will be a mixture of both if you look hard enough. Perhaps I’m a romantic to hope for this but maybe I’m just looking for it, most of the time.

I didn’t really get into mysteries until I came across Tana French. That allowed me a little bit of leeway outside of my non-mystery comfort zone and I took up Maisie Dobbs. My most recent mystery acquisition is Alan Bradley’s fantastic set of mysteries.  I have never really been into romance but I’ll take if it happens to be there.

I will say, for sure, that I am sitting, here, like a cheese ball, listening to Andrea Bocelli sing Christmas songs and I am in grave danger of drawing comparisons to the magic, mystery and romance of a holiday I usually don’t get into much. Gosh, opera ruins everything…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2011 11:53 am

    I also prefer a mystery, but won’t turn my nose up at a love story if it’s presented. I can’t say that I am a lover of romance, but if there is a love story embedded in another book that I am reading, it probably won’t bother me at all.

  2. December 10, 2011 1:20 pm

    Now that I’m thinking about it, I don’t read much of both. I demand a ton from love stories and most end up falling short though I did love Nick and Norah’s Playlist.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

