Skip to content

BTT: Mood Reads

December 1, 2011

Do you find that your mood affects the things you read? Like, if you’re in a bad mood, do you tend to indulge in reading that will support it or do you try to read things that will cheer you up? Do you pick different types of books on dreary, rainy days than you do on bright sunny ones?

For that matter, does your mood color what you’re reading, so that a funny book isn’t so funny or a serious one not so deep?

I think that I am less likely to influence my reading by mood than I am to hAve my mood influenced by my reading. Since I was a little kid, intertwine an extracurricular interest in the things I read, getting involvedwin outside research based onboost things I read. Obviously with the Internet I can do this obsessively to my little geek heart’s content, especially when it comes to historical fiction or biography types.I tend to read as escape so doing really tend toward dark stuff when my life is dark but, hey, sometimes a nice, creepy murder mystery can warm up a drizzly day.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 3, 2011 11:48 am

    I don’t often choose reads based on my moods, as I usually have a list of things that I want to get read, regardless of my mood, but I DO find that my mood changes when I am reading certain types of books. Often if a book is sad and depressing, I can’t help it but get a little blue, and when a book is light and comic, I tend to be more jovial and in good humor. Very cool question. I hadn’t ever really thought about this before!

  2. December 3, 2011 2:09 pm

    I’m a moody reader. I based my reads on my moods. If time is short or I’m feeling restless, I read short books. I also pick books based on season or weather. I love reading The Secret Garden in the spring. I’ve been eyeing wintery reads since it’s December and so cold.

Leave a Reply

