Skip to content

Teaser Tuesday: The Lady of the Rivers ~ Philippa Gregory

October 24, 2011

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!


I have the fattest cows in Northamptonshire, and the best sheep, but I do swear, Jacquetta, we wil live and die in debt. You have married a poor man and should be glad that I don’t make you beg in your petticoat.

p. 123 The Lady of the Rivers by Philippa Gregory

12 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2011 9:54 pm

    I’m interested to see your review of this one. I haven’t got to it yet, in fact, I still haven’t read The White Queen. Sigh!

  2. T.F.Walsh permalink
    October 25, 2011 2:08 am

    Doesn’t sound too good… wonder who is saying this… nice teaser.

    Here’s mine: http://tfwalsh.wordpress.com/2011/10/25/teaser-tuesday-hades/#comments

  3. October 25, 2011 2:32 am

    Ohhhh – I love Philippa Gregory’s books… I’m jealous! Love the teaser you chose.

    Here’s my Teaser from The Nine Lives of Christmas! ~ Wendi

  4. October 25, 2011 4:03 am

    Great teaser! Here is my teaser for this week.

  5. October 25, 2011 7:01 am

    Good teaser, sounds like this may be one I’d like.

    Here’s ours–we have 3 this week AND a giveaway!
    http://ourstack.blogspot.com/2011/10/tuesday-teasers-wildwood-night.html

  6. October 25, 2011 7:06 am

    There have been such mixed review of this. I’m curious what you make of it when you finish.

  7. October 25, 2011 8:17 am

    Interesting teaser!

  8. October 25, 2011 9:15 am

    I haven’t read her books but I do enjoy historical novels. Here’s my tease from a mystery set in feudal Japan by Laura Joh Rowland – My tease

  9. October 25, 2011 9:58 am

    Sounds like she’s in for a rough time. Great teaser. Thanks for sharing. If you get a chance, mine is here.

  10. October 25, 2011 10:14 am

    I am reading this right now and am enjoying it a lot. It’s very different than a lot of the other Gregory books that I have read. I hope you like it too!

  11. November 11, 2011 9:00 pm

    I do accept as true with all the ideas you’ve introduced on your post. They are very convincing and will certainly work. Nonetheless, the posts are too brief for beginners. May just you please lengthen them a bit from subsequent time? Thank you for the post.

Leave a Reply

