Skip to content

The Night Circus ~ Erin Morgenstern

October 22, 2011


Genre: Fiction
Publisher: Doubleday
400 pages
ISBN: 9780385534635
Source: Book Store

Have you ever had that book that made you cry when you finished? Not because it was so much emotionally charged in a sad, or even happy way, but simply because you didn’t want it to end? Ever?

Without too much ridiculous, unsupported gushing, I have to say that this is, hands down, that book for me. I haven’t wanted a book to be endless in quite sometime, possibly ever.

Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus is simply magical. It’s not magical in a campy, Harry Potter way not is it dark or weird like, well, I don’t know, I don’t read dark and weird things.

It’s magical in the purest sense of the word. It’s a dream and a hope and a wish and bit of a nightmare at moments. It’s filled with beauty and wonder and love and danger, all of these things both subtle and bold.

The story is based around two magicians, trained from early childhood, prepared for one looming and overwhelming challenge, later in life. The manifestation of their “game” or “challenge” becomes a bit of a runaway train in the form of this completely unique circus. Picture the more hauntingly beautiful parts of oddball show business like Cirque du Soleil and Blue Man Group, coupled with classic dream-based scenes from places like Narnia and Alice in Wonderland.

The plot itself is too complicated to lay out in any way but it’s very easy to follow once you have the book in your hands. The story is about love and passion, obligation and freedom. In a word, it’s about choice. I know that this is just one more positive review for this book and that I will probably be looked over in my plea for your acquisition and experience of this book. However, I beg you not to write this off as hype. Truly, this is an awesome book. You have to read it. You have to. I was kidding about the choice part. This has nothing to do with choice. Read this book.

If you’re reading this in the middle of the night and can’t run out to the bookstore, right now, but need a little bit more, check this out:

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2011 8:30 am

    Well, gosh, I was doing so well at resisting the juggernaut for this book until I read your review! I’m now officially capitulating!

  2. October 22, 2011 10:25 am

    Ok, I just bought this book! Though really I’m here to cheer you on! I hope you are still doing the readathon! I see you took a mental vacation, I wish I could do that too. My house also wishes it! HA!

    I hope you have some more good reads lined up! Read on!

  3. October 22, 2011 10:49 am

    Yay! Glad to see that you enjoyed this book too. It was so magical. 🙂

  4. October 22, 2011 3:10 pm

    Love the way you describe this book, especially comparing it to Cirque du Soleil and Blue Man Group (although the blue men sort of scare me with their creepy gazes look lol). This review got me re excited to read this. The only thing is I’m pretty sure this is adult fiction..

  5. October 23, 2011 12:08 pm

    that pushes it up higher on my tbr list! great review! thanks!

  6. Elizabeth V permalink
    October 27, 2011 2:36 pm

    OK, you convinced me. I need to get that book. I buy books often, hard covers, so expensive, because I have a huge bookcase to fill. But I try to get them for cheap or free because it does get expensive. I’m going to hunt around for cheap or free. I’ll probably end up at amazon.com, though.

    techeditor

Trackbacks

  1. The Night Circus, by Erin Morganstern – Book Review | Linus's Blanket

Leave a Reply

