Skip to content

BTT: Readcation.

October 20, 2011

btt button

I’m on vacation this week. I didn’t go anywhere exciting or exotic, I’m just not at work. Spending time puttering around the house, playing with the dog and … oh yeah. Reading. A lot.

Do your reading habits change when you’re on vacation? Do you read more? Do you indulge in lighter, fluffier books than you usually read? Do you save up special books so you’ll be able to spend real vacation time with them? Or do you just read the same old stuff, vacation or not?

Oh I definitely read more on vacation. I don’t think my actual choices change. I’m not one for beach book or Christmas books or any other sort of lighter book for the season. I have been participating in the R.I.P. challenge but most of those books have been in my regular genres, anyway.

I’ve been on bed rest for the last month and then in the NICU for two and a half weeks following that. Whether or not this really counts as a vacation, I’m unclear but I will say that bed rest provided me with a bit of a vacation-like reading spree. Having a newborn at home, well, quite frankly does not!

So, I guess the short answer is that while my reading habits conform to my ideals (just reading nonstop all day, every day) while I have down time, my genres and choices tend to stay about the same.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2011 6:34 am

    Same here – I read more but my choices stay the same 🙂
    http://booksbiscuitsandtea.blogspot.com/2011/10/booking-through-thursday-4.html
    xxx

  2. October 20, 2011 7:33 am

    My genres stay the same too 🙂 Congrats on the baby!

    My BTT post is here if you’d like a look 🙂

  3. October 20, 2011 8:18 am

    I don’t consider bedrest and NICU vacation at all, but I’m thankful you had books to get you through that difficult time. Whether I get in more reading when I’m on vacation depends on where I’m vacationing.

  4. October 20, 2011 8:58 am

    I wouldn’t consider that a vacation! I would have been pretty distracted I think. I don’t change my genres on vacation, but depending on where I am, I get alot more read. In Poland, where I get tired of the “schwish, schwish, schwish” that I don’t totally understand, I retreat and read. I plowed through some serious pages this year.

  5. October 20, 2011 9:00 am

    First of all, congrats on the birth of your little one! I’m hugely impressed with the positive attitude of seeing bed rest as vacationy reading time.

    Here’s my answer! Vacation reading, and reading faster than my parents.

  6. October 20, 2011 9:15 am

    I’d love to say that I read more on vacation, but the fact is that I hardly ever crack open a book when I am on vacation. I do like to take special books with me for those trips, but usually they come home unread. Hope you and the little one are doing well over there!

  7. October 20, 2011 10:32 am

    Okay, you win the prize for best blog title!

    @zibilee, I used to read more on vacations when I was younger but I know what you mean — sometimes vacations seem busier than non-vacations. Nowadays I get most of my vacation reading while on the train/plane vs. after getting to the destination . . .

  8. October 20, 2011 10:43 am

    love the picture! i would consider bedrest a readcation!

    Trish – My BTT Post

  9. October 20, 2011 10:58 am

    You’ll find my reflections here
    Bedrest is not automatically the same as vacation – but it can certainly influence our reading habits.

  10. October 20, 2011 11:22 am

    That’s a fair assessment of my habits, too.

  11. October 20, 2011 4:19 pm

    Sounds like congratulations is in order, enjoy all the moments. I agree more time is great for reading.

    My BTT

    http://teawithmarce.blogspot.com/2011/10/booking-through-thursday-reading-habits.html

  12. October 21, 2011 9:11 pm

    I don’t know, I think I do read lighter. Or I just put review books aside and am more likely to read something I’ve been wanting to read for a long time.

Leave a Reply

