Skip to content

TSS: It’s the Month of Halloween!

October 16, 2011

The Sunday Salon.com

My husband and I have always been rather decidedly un-holiday people. We like to get together with family and such but we’re not really into the whole flashiness of any of the major festivals. For some reason, this year, Halloween started early in our house. On the first school day of October, my son and I ended up coming across Dunkin Donuts’ Halloween sprinkles which sparked my son’s “It’s The Month Of Halloween” campaign. This, along with presents from my parents (a dragon costume, ghost stickers and other assorted spooky silliness) and the general Atlanta obsession with all things haunted and harvested (I’m talking crops, people, not organs), has made the impending holiday a rather exciting time for the whole household.

Now, of course, this is one of our favorite Halloweens ever, since our little family of six is finally complete. Mom, Dad, Kai, Gavin, Donnie and Teddy.   My Halloween costume really should be a queen as I’m the matriarch of my castle of boys, at this point. And no, before you ask, we are not trying for a girl, thank you.

Ah, but back to Halloween. As I said, I’m not a big fan of holidays, in general, and spooky stuff sends me running really quickly in a very far, different direction. I think I’ve mentioned this, a few times, lately, but I feel like I’m embracing the spook a bit better, this year. I don’t know if it’s because our given due date for Gavin was originally the 30th or if it’s because Kai’s energy is just so catching. I have signed up and almost completed the R.I.P. challenge which it’s taken me two years to even go near. And hey, I’m enjoying myself! I actually like this stuff. Of course, I’ve been reading mysteries and magic books (like the seriously fabulous Night Circus, oh dear god can’t wait for this review to go up) but still, I think that’s a pretty good step in the right direction.

I have to stop, now, or I’m going to leak over in my excitement and start talking about The Circus which I’m so head over heels in love with that it’s probably not very healthy! I can’t post my review until sometime on Wednesday because I have other boring more fun things to post about before then. Oh, but it really is just so fabulous. Enough! I shall leave you pictures.

Please note that even the dogs are excited about the pumpkin though couldn’t possibly care one little bit about the baby. Been there done that, apparently…

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 16, 2011 12:52 pm

    That is so funny about the dogs and the pumpkin! And Gavin looks adorable in the hat!

  2. October 16, 2011 12:54 pm

    Precious pictures! I do enjoy Halloween but we don’t live in a neighborhood, so I have never decorated much, except for carving pumpkins (that rot in what, two days?). We go to friends house and let the kids get their candy and the parents have margaritas. My kids are getting to age, though, where they are mulling over the idea of dressing up being too juvenile. I just keep my mouth shut. I think the lure of the sweets will win out.

    Isn’t RIP awesome? I’ve been a “no challenge” blog this year, but I cannot resist RIP. I have The Night Circus, but have held off reading it just because everyone was reading it. Weird how I get sometimes, when I should just pick it up and enjoy it, but I worry that I will be the 3 millionth person to review it…

  3. October 16, 2011 3:21 pm

    I love Halloween and get really excited about it every year. I love to sit out on the porch and watch the kids come by and give them treats, but this year, my own kids are a little too big to be celebrating. I love that you are getting into the spirit of things over there, and that the kiddos are too! Keep those precious pictures coming. I love to see them!

  4. October 16, 2011 9:28 pm

    Love the photos … espeically the littlest pumpkin peeking out!

  5. October 16, 2011 10:07 pm

    I can’t wait to read your review of The Night Circus. I’m writing my review right now. I love Halloween. I’m such a coward yet I don’t mind scaring myself! 😀

  6. October 18, 2011 10:02 am

    Halloween spirit seems to be all over the place this year. I swear I think we’re the only ones in our neighborhood who haven’t decorated for it. Now that our little one is an adult, I skip that part and just give out candy. I LOVE the photo of your little guys together.

Leave a Reply

