Skip to content

Blogging Under Fire

October 15, 2011

I’ve been blogging for almost two and a half years, now and I have gone through about 14 different life changes during that time. It’s been really interesting to watch which events have spiked or stopped my blogging. I took about six months off when we were opening the school but when Kai was a baby, while, gee, that’s when the blog started up.

I knew that after Gavin arrived, I would be less likely to be reading as much as I was reading on bedrest. I’m totally ok with that but I do have a few things that I sort of need to get done like tour stops that I’d scheduled long ago, thinking I’d be in my last weeks of pregnancy.

I have been enjoying reading to my new little guy.  I’ve also found several books in the Middle Grade or Young Adult categories, lately, like Wonderstruck and The Night Circus  that are fun to read aloud to my older son. We, as reading buddies, have been particularly enjoying the pictures from Wonderstruck and the focus on the museum but also the dramatic and super constructs of The Night Circus‘ story.

Blogging and reading have been two things that have saved me in times of stress and have filled in my days when things are going peacefully. I don’t always have the time or energy to do either the way I do at other times but that’s just life, I suppose. It remains to be seen how my blogging will adapt to the new baby but I’m excited to find out.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 16, 2011 3:24 pm

    Oh, I can totally understand that with the baby and the little one, you would have much less time for blogging, and that is ok. Ideally, our blogs will grow with us and with the changes in our lives. Don’t worry about feeling obligated to post. We will all still be here reading, no matter how often you post!

  2. October 16, 2011 4:55 pm

    The secret for blogging longevity is that you have to make it work for you, and not the other way around! If that means less, or a slightly different focus, that’s okay. After all it is your blog and you can do what you want!

  3. October 16, 2011 9:26 pm

    I’m almost 100% sure I couldn’t have blogged when my son was a newborn. I was a mess. And you have a second kid too. Frankly, I don’t see how you kept it going all through the pregnancy and hospital stays!

  4. October 22, 2011 12:09 am

    great attitude. I don’t know how y blogging will go come March, but i too am excited to find out.

Leave a Reply

