Skip to content

BTT: To Sequel or Not to Sequel…

October 13, 2011

btt button

If you could get a sequel for any book, what would it be?

While I have read quite a few good sets and trilogies over the years, I truly enjoy stand alone stories much better. Because of that, I can’t say that I’s actually like to see more added to any of my stories that I think were so expertly wrapped up. I think that there are some stories that need fleshing out like The Hunger Games and Libba Bray’s Gemme Doyle trilogy and of course The Lord of the Rings. That being the case, though, I still prefer stand alone stories to anything else.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2011 7:57 am

    I agree! Stories that are able to captivate you and leave you satisfied with one book is always the best!

  2. October 13, 2011 8:10 am

    I fall for the trilogies almost every time, but at the same time I’d love for things to be finished when I turn the last page! Or, crazy thought, write a two or four book series? I just roll my eyes every time a new book comes out and I hear it is a trilogy.

  3. October 13, 2011 9:30 am

    Have to agree… what’s with the number 3 and books, lol.

    Here’s my BTT – House Millar series

    Aine

  4. October 13, 2011 9:35 am

    @sandynawrot, interesting, so you’re saying the trilogy thing has been overdone?

    As an author I’m sort of watching to see if the trend to ebooks spawns a second trend: the rebirth of the serial. It’s sort of appealing to me as a writer — why not pub a story in novella-sized chunks . . . or even a chapter at a time. Would you find that irritating, though?

  5. October 13, 2011 10:17 am

    The only book I would really like to see a sequel to would have to be The Lonely Polygamist, by Brady Udall. Scratch that. I might also like to see a sequel to The Weird Sisters.

  6. October 13, 2011 11:23 am

    Me, too. I do read a lot of series books, but somehow I don’t think of those as sequels. I think I really prefer stand-alone books.

  7. October 13, 2011 11:24 am

    I like the stand alone books best. I like a story to end when I’ve finished the book. One reason why I never watched soap opera’s is they never end, can’t stand it. I think a good book is difficult to follow up with a sequel.

  8. October 13, 2011 12:35 pm

    I agree, if you are satisfied, why go on with a sequel.

    http://tributebooksmama.blogspot.com/2011/10/booking-through-thursday_13.html

  9. October 13, 2011 3:22 pm

    Agreed! Mind you, there are a lot of books I loved so much I’m glad there’s more than one and I get to read about the characters some more but, yeah, I wish there were more stand alone books.

  10. October 13, 2011 11:22 pm

    Whereas I am a total sucker for a trilogy or series! What’s better than one book about fabulous characters with a great story….two or more books!

Leave a Reply

