Skip to content

Press Here ~ Herve Tullet

October 10, 2011


Genre: Children’s Literature
Publisher: Chronicle Books
56 pages
ISBN: 9780811879545
Source: A Gift from Jen

I haven’t reviewed a children’s book in a very long time but I thought I should since I just found, oh, probably my favorite kid’s read ever. While we were in the hospital, my fabulous buddy Jen, sent us a copy of, perhaps, the most entertaining piece of reading material ever. No, I mean, for serious. My step-dd says it was cool before iPhone apps were cool. Of course, that’s exactly what it feels like: an app.

The book starts with simple instructions and a dot. Each time an action is completed and a page is turned, the next page displays the result of the previous action. It is, admittedly, a lot like a simple computer game. Kai loved it. I loved it. We read it to Gavin and we think he liked it. It’s a great book for kids starting to read and follow instructions as it’s simple, fun and easy to navigate with some pretty cool results.

It has no message about bullying or diversity or sharing or anything other than coolness. Still, really, it’s one of my favorite books, children’s or adult. I promise that, even if you don’t have kids of your own, or even ones to borrow, you’ll get a serious kick out of this as a big kid. Thanks. Jen!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2011 6:26 pm

    Glad you enjoyed! I’m hoping to add this to our own library eventually 🙂

  2. October 10, 2011 9:27 pm

    OK!! I must look for this! I’m very intrigued!

  3. October 11, 2011 10:23 am

    This does sound like a really cool book, and even though I don’t have small kids, I am just curious enough to pick this up and check it out! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

