Skip to content

My Captive Audience

October 10, 2011


I have never been big on reading to or singing to kids while they’re gestating in side my tummy but I do have a habit of reading entirely too adult books to babies who probably simply hear vocal tones and not even words, yet. Today, I started reading Night Circus to Gavin. He was rather alert through my entire reading. I think, sometimes, it’s less about instilling a life long love of literature and simply about just giving babies comforting sounds. Eh, either way, it’s fun for me and keeps me from singing to the entire NICU just to hear my own voice…

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2011 8:54 pm

    He looks so well! I think it is just gorgeous that you are reading to him!

  2. October 10, 2011 9:28 pm

    Awww…look at those eyes!! He’s looking wonderful! I remember that same big eyed stare from my son when he was a newborn. Good for you for reading to him! It is never too early!

  3. October 11, 2011 12:54 am

    He knows you love him….Just look into his eyes..

  4. October 11, 2011 3:46 am

    Aw, he has that “What’s that?” look! 🙂

  5. October 11, 2011 10:21 am

    He looks so inquisitive and alert! What a beautiful little guy! I love this idea as well.

  6. October 11, 2011 8:57 pm

    Gavin is just so beautiful!

  7. October 12, 2011 2:29 am

    I think it sounds like a lovely thing to do – I bet he loves listening to the sound of your voice.

  8. October 12, 2011 1:51 pm

    He’s so beautiful! 🙂 thanks for sharing that picture!

  9. October 13, 2011 6:18 pm

    As a mom AND reading teacher, I say good for you! You go right ahead and read anything you want to that beautiful baby! The sound of your voice is stimulation and love all wrapped up. 🙂

Leave a Reply

