Skip to content

TSS: As The World Turns

October 9, 2011

The Sunday Salon.com
Ah, well, I’ve been home for a week, today. Gavibean is still at the hospital but he’s getting bigger and he feels heavier every day. He’s eating better and better so just cross your fingers for a quick plumping, here, soon. Hopefully we’ll be able to do his car seat test, this week and then do our other discharge activities.

EDIT:

THIS JUST IN!

Gavin’s doc just called and said that he finished 5 feedings off the tube, yesterday (he only needs to be doing 8 full ones in order to go home!) AND, he’s up to…ready? 3lbs 15 oz! Yes, folks, that’s only one ounce away from four pounds! Are we excited, yet? Oh, I think we ARE! 

I have to say that I have this terrible habit of using music for good or for evil. Yesterday, I was listening to my ipod on the way from the hospital and I found this song below and couldn’t stop listening to it. Not exactly the best song to have on replay if you are not in fact brining a little guy home right then and there.

But then, of course, there’s a much happier song in Joh Denver’s Hawk and Eagle. Gavin means Little Hawk or Little Falcon so Kai and I have been singing this song to Gavs when we visit.

And, of course, just so Kai, our Ocean kid, doesn’t feel left out, there’s this one, also by the lovely John Denver:

I’ve actually gotten a fair amount of reading done despite the business of trying to balance everything. My week consisted of some pretty diverse stories, this week:

The Lantern
The Grief of Others
Wonderstruck

Right, yeah, I know, pretty random but I enjoyed them all in their own unique ways. Over all a good reading week and a decent week otherwise. Happy Pride to all who are enjoying festivities, though, I’m sorry that Orlando’s activities got rained out. Likewise, happy protests to all of my folks involved in their Wallstreet spinoff ventures.

Happy Weekend to all!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2011 11:13 am

    OK, now wait a second. You live in Orlando? Did I know this?

    • October 9, 2011 11:24 am

      Oh no no! But my parents live there so it’s a bit of a second home, these days. :0)

  2. October 9, 2011 12:50 pm

    I started Wonderstruck last night and I am wonder struck by it! Can’t wait to get back to it!

  3. October 9, 2011 5:32 pm

    So glad to hear that baby Gavin is doing so well over there! I am cheering him on from over here, and hope that he passes all his tests with flying colors so he can hurry up and come home!

  4. October 9, 2011 6:09 pm

    WOW! That is so wonderful. I remember those days of calling to find out if she bottle fed or was fed by the tube if I was at home sleeping. 🙂 Keep going GAVIN!!!

  5. October 9, 2011 8:51 pm

    What wonderful news! I know you’ll be thrilled to have that baby at home!

  6. October 9, 2011 9:18 pm

    Yay!! Only one more ounce to go! It seems like he is thriving and doing fantastic! Yay!

Leave a Reply

