Skip to content

We’re Home! Pictures As Promised…Then Back to Books, I swear.

October 2, 2011

 

 

 

 

 

Ah, well, for better or worse, I’m home, sweet, home, now. We will still be making daily trips to the hospital until our little buddy is released, though. It’s all been a bit of a whirlwind and I haven’t been able to get pictures up due to limited photo access thanks to my iPad so here we go.

1. This is the very first night that Gavin was on the outside. I was pretty much stuck to my bed thanks to surgery so I sent my husband up to check on him in the NICU. He stayed for about an our, fed Gavin and reported back with some beautiful pictures that made me sleep a little better. 

2. This is from the next day before I was let off my post surgery mag-sulfate. As much as I wanted to pull out all of my tubes and I.V.s and wires, I have to say that I am so very thankful for my wonderful husband and his super amazing daddy skills. 

3. Kai, our older guy, drew a picture for his baby brother, at school, on Friday and we hung it up on the wall over his bed in the SCN. It’s a rainbow and a sunshine to “help him stay happy and warm”. I mean, can my guys BE any cuter?

4. This was our setback from yesterday. Usually, preemies get a little bit worn out by day three and need a little bit of assistance eating. The good thing is that he’s right on track for what “most babies” his age do so we haven’t become alarmed, yet. It is scary, though, to see your brand new little guy hooked up to such things. We can still hold and snuggle him with everything attached, though, which is nice. 

5. This, of course, just melts my little mommy heart. Kai is just in love with his tiny brother and well, we’d like to think that Gavin appreciates all of the love coming his way from such a caring older sibling.

Obviously, it’s a bit of a bittersweet homecoming but we’re all taking this time to rest and get everything ready so we will be all set for Gavin’s arrival in our arms. It should be a very good fall indeed!
29 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2011 10:29 pm

    Your guys are very sweet! Gavin looks like a little doll. I’m sure it is heartbreaking to see him hooked up to tubes and wires, and I’m praying he won’t be like that much longer.

    • October 3, 2011 9:59 am

      Thanks for your positive thoughts, Kathy! We’re hoping to have him home, soon, too. It will be great to have everyone in the same place and for that place to be home!

  2. October 2, 2011 10:47 pm

    Oh, so sweet. I continue to keep your family in my thoughts and I can’t wait for him to join you at home!

    • October 3, 2011 10:02 am

      Thanks! We’re so excited that he’s doing well and we’re happy to have him home soon. The waiting is the hardest part!

  3. October 2, 2011 10:49 pm

    OMG, he is the most adorable tiny thing I’ve ever seen! He looks so healthy too! How wonderful, and please don’t apologize for posting pictures – the more the better! :–)

    • October 3, 2011 10:06 am

      Thanks and thanks! he IS quite cute, sn’t he? ;O) We think he looks a lot like our first son. It will be interesting to see what he looks like in a month as our older guy was born full term and I’m not sure we can see the full comparison quite yet.

  4. October 3, 2011 1:45 am

    Pam, Sorry to be behind in what has been going on with you. First, let me say your baby is AMAZING and your attitude is even more amazing. I don’t know if you remember but my daughter was born 6.5 weeks early October 26, 2010 and spent one month in the NICU. My water just broke one morning and she had to be born C-section. She was 5 lbs. 2 ozs (my hubby and I are both EXTREMELY tall) and she was 18 1/2 inches long. If she would have been full term, she would have been a giant!

    Having her (my first born, my hubby’s second) was the hardest thing that my family ever went through–honestly. I am trying to create some sort of practical guide to the NICU from parents who have been there because I felt SO completely lost during my experience. I read your post about blaming yourself. I did that, too. My heart goes out to you and your family. I know how hard it is to pump and be home without your baby. If you have any questions, need to vent, etc please feel free to email me at margo@margodill (dot) com. Thank you so much for the photos of your amazing guy and for sharing this with us.

    Margo

    • October 3, 2011 10:05 am

      Wow, Margo, that would be a great thing! I’ve been looking for really good EMOTIONAL resources for parents of preemies but mostly I’m finding very straightforward medical, factual stuff. It’s good to know that other people blame themselves even if its not really helpful. :O) Thank you so much for your positive thoughts and warm words. It really helps to hear/read about others experiences.

  5. October 3, 2011 11:30 am

    Congratulations on the beautiful little bundle. Much happiness and joy is wished for you all.

    • October 3, 2011 10:18 pm

      Thank you so much! Even with the tubes and wires and absence, he is QUITE the charming little bundle of, yes, joy. :O)

  6. October 3, 2011 12:26 pm

    He is simply beautiful, and I bet you can’t wait to take him hope so that you can properly dote on him! I am so thrilled that you shared these pictures with us! What a wonderful little angel he is!

    • October 3, 2011 10:18 pm

      Thanks, Heather! We simply adore him, already and can’t wait to get him home so he’s all ours!

  7. October 3, 2011 1:20 pm

    Oh wow! What doll! I think I would go a little crazy not being able to snuggle him 24/7 though. When my kids were born I never wanted to let them go. Thanks for sharing the amazing pictures, I hope he grows all nice and healthy and there aren’t any complications or anything. Lots of good vibes your way!

    • October 3, 2011 10:19 pm

      I dont think I’d be making it if I didn’t have my bigger guy to snuggle with. Of course, he has little three and a half year old meltdowns, missing his baby brother, too, so that’s hard, but I think, as a family, my kiddo, husband and I have all sort of been propping each other up through all of this.

  8. October 3, 2011 7:34 pm

    Congrats on the new baby, he is SO CUTE! I hope you’ll get to bring him home soon!

    • October 3, 2011 10:15 pm

      Thanks, Emily! Every day that passes brings us one day closer to having him here with us. The NICU staff is getting REALLY sick of us because one of us, or one of our family is there pretty much around the clock. What can I say, he’s got a lot of fans! ;O)

  9. October 3, 2011 8:07 pm

    Gavin is so beautiful! I hope he’s able to come home soon. Take care of yourself.

    • October 3, 2011 10:15 pm

      Thanks! The taking care of myself is the hard part as I’m a bit distracted by missing the kiddo but I know I’ll want to be very well rested when he gets to come home so that puts it a bit up on my list. :O)

  10. October 3, 2011 9:28 pm

    Oh … Gavin is adorable!! Adorable!! He’ll be a chubby little baby before you know it. And nothing cuter than seeing your first-born with your second-born. So cute and touching. Hope you are all home together soon enough. (But enjoy the time sleeping as long as you can.)

  11. October 3, 2011 9:41 pm

    Your guys are truly special! Gavin is just precious! I hope you will have him home soon. I hope you are getting some rest. Your body is probably enjoying a bit of rest. Thanks for sharing your boys with us!

    • October 3, 2011 10:17 pm

      Haha than k YOU for letting me share them!! I love them to pieces and I know they won’t always love each other in the same stargazing way that they do now but I know they’ll love eachother like only brothers can. :O)

  12. October 4, 2011 8:45 am

    Thanks so much for sharing the photos of your beautiful family! That last one (of Kai and Gavin) deserves to be enlarged and framed. And, yes, I’m sure all the babies in the NCU are benefitting from the ‘sunshine and warmth’ (and love) in the picture Kai drew for his baby brother.

    You have to promise that when you get “back to books” you won’t stop posting pictures of the boys 🙂

  13. October 4, 2011 10:37 pm

    I LOVE the picture of your two boys. So adorable! And I’m sure he’ll chunk up in no time…my sister-in-laws babies were both about two pounds when born, and they had a longer stay at the hospital but are both round little girls now. I’m glad Gavin will follow you home soon!

  14. October 5, 2011 12:48 am

    So beautiful! I hope he continues to grow well and you all get home together as soon as possible

  15. October 6, 2011 12:55 am

    Awww… Gavin looks adorable and cute! And so does Kai. You have got two lovely boys, mummy! 🙂

  16. October 6, 2011 10:14 am

    Congratulations on your new arrival! You have two adorable little guys!

  17. Colleen Turner permalink
    October 7, 2011 1:29 pm

    Congratulations! Your pictures and story brought tears to my eyes :). My son was born at 32 weeks and was in the NICU for a month before I could bring him home, so I know what it is like to go home without the new little bundle. The whole journey is hard but so sweet when they come home. My son is now six and his big, healthy and rambunctious! Good luck with everything and keep sharing the pictures of your beautiful new guy!

  18. October 8, 2011 10:44 am

    Congratulations! I don’t know how I missed this post in my reader. Gavin looks so sweet and in no time he will be home with you. Those pictures are awesome and we are waiting for more. Isn’t Kai cute?!

    HUGS!!

Leave a Reply

