Skip to content

BTT: Life Out Loud (a little late…)

September 30, 2011

1. What do you think of reading aloud/being read to? Does it bring back memories of your childhood? Your children’s childhood?

My parents are incredibly good at reading aloud. My mother does it for a living. My husband and my sister read aloud well as they both have theater backgrounds. I’m a political science geek with a passion for theater, reading and talking too much. As a result of all of this I find that I am very picky about listening to other people read aloud. I know I should encourage it in everyone but sometimes I find that I’m just not that patient. Now, as far as being read to, the act of it bringing back childhood, yes, my mother reading to me, even from a cereal box, will always pull me back.

2. Does this affect the way you feel about audio books?

Oh, you know, I almost mentioned this above. Since you asked, I’ll be honest. I think that my answer for number one is why I havent really tried audio books. There’s just nothing like mom.

3. Do you now have times when you read aloud or are read to?

I am rarely read to, these days, unless I’m at a reading or a signing. I read aloud to my son, though and, actually, he has begun reading to me which just makes my little mommy heart melt.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2011 11:56 am

    My parents never read aloud to me, and that is something that has always saddened me. I try to read aloud to my friend’s sons whenever I can, and also to my niece. It makes me feel happy that someone is exposing them to the written word. I do like audiobooks at times, but sometimes the narrator loses me, which is always frustrating…

  2. October 2, 2011 9:18 am

    Your mom reads aloud professionally? How cool! Does she read for the blind or for audiobooks or for children. How interesting. I guess it might spoil you to have a pro in the house. And having your children read to you is the best thing in the world!

Leave a Reply

