Skip to content

It’s a Date!

September 20, 2011

We are still cooking away, here in hospital land, folks. This is a good thing as we are only 34 weeks and 3 days. The down side is that there has been so much uncertainty that it been hard to get comfortable in any situation.

Today, my OB came in to say that if nothing else changes before 37 weeks, making us go into action earlier, we will induce on the 9th.

While three weeks seems like an incredibly long time for me to be in bed away from home, for my husband to man the fort alone and for our little guy to be away from his mommy, we at least have an end in sight to this madness.

I know that even at 37 weeks, he’ll still be tiny but, as I’ve said before, I’ll wait it out, bored, for a little while longer if it means I get to take my baby home when we leave rather than having him stay here.

Of course, that wasn’t the only fun thing that happened today. I got approved for two, half hour wheelchair rides, twice a day! I know, right? So much fun. I also got my room moved to the other side of the hall so I’m looking out at the city skyline instead of looking at the semi-fortress like walls of the main hospital. I also get more sun this way. Wheee! And last but not least, I got to go to the weekly mom-to-mom group, on my floor, today, and it was nice to just check in to see where everyone is on her journey. Turns out I’m not the only one who feels like she has a total unhinged, lack of control in this situation. Big sigh of semi-releif.

So there you have it. Hopefully the next update I’ll be giving everyone is three weeks down the road when we have our healthy “term” kiddo in our arms.

Thanks for your support and love as always!

23 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2011 7:50 pm

    Nice to know that there is an end in sight, and that your daily routine has improved a bit.

  2. September 20, 2011 8:35 pm

    The wheelchair rides sound like a welcome change of scene! Am thinking of you, and wishing you the best!

    • September 22, 2011 5:24 am

      Thanks so much! Having my iPad and therefore my bloggers makes this a lot easier!

  3. September 21, 2011 9:03 am

    I know it seems like forever right now, but when you look back at this time years from now, it will seem like a mere blip of time.

    • September 22, 2011 5:23 am

      My husband and I were just talking about that. Only a little bit longer and then it’s history!

  4. September 21, 2011 9:33 am

    Sounds like you’re making the most of the situation– don’t go too fast on those wheelchair adventures šŸ™‚ You’re in the best place possible for you and the baby … rest and relax while you can (oh, and read, too!)

  5. September 21, 2011 9:56 am

    Thanks for the update! Glad to know that you’ve been given a date. šŸ™‚ Have fun with those wheelchair rides!

  6. September 21, 2011 10:30 am

    So glad to know what’s going on, but I am thinking you must be ready to go home with the baby!! Is there anything I can do? Do you need a care package or anything? I can imagine that this is a rough time for you and the family. Take care and be good to yourself.

    • September 22, 2011 5:21 am

      You are so sweet! Thanks to all of my families at school. Am in short supply of…nothing! Thanks for the good thoughts, Heather! :0)

  7. September 21, 2011 2:09 pm

    I’m thinking of you too, and wishing you all the best. It’s definitely good to have a date set. Have fun with the wheelchair rides!

    • September 22, 2011 5:20 am

      Thanks and thanks! The wheel chair rides are awesome! I try not to get TOO excited. :0)

  8. September 21, 2011 6:37 pm

    Glad to hear that you may be able to hold out til 37 weeks! Have fun in the wheel chair rides šŸ™‚

  9. September 21, 2011 7:41 pm

    Good luck and I hope all goes well! At least when you are confined to bed you can still read plenty AND you know you’ll have a healthy baby at the end of it all.

    Also, I could seriously go for some wheelchair rides, if anyone is offering… šŸ˜‰

  10. September 21, 2011 10:10 pm

    I’m sure it helps to have an deadline in sight. This so hard but you can do it!! Enjoy your daily rides, and just keep your eyes on the prize!

  11. September 22, 2011 7:55 am

    I’m wishing you a smooth delivery and perfect little bundle of job.

  12. September 22, 2011 8:49 am

    Hang in there! It’s worth it!

Leave a Reply

