Skip to content

BBAW: On Community

September 13, 2011

Phew, I made it out of the hospital and am back just in time for BBAW! Every day of the event, there is a blogging topic to write about, much of it focused on community and the way well all blog and connect. Below is the question for yesterday (Oh, I know, I’m a day late on this but I have no interview going up, today (that’s the topic for Day 2) so I’m not quite behind the ball, yet!) and my answer which made me a little teary. 

Monday September 12th:

Community
While the awards are a fun part of BBAW, they can never accurately represent the depth and breadth of diversity in the book blogging community. Today you are encouraged to highlight a couple of bloggers that have made book blogging a unique experience for you. They can be your mentors, a blogger that encouraged you to try a different kind of book, opened your eyes to a new issue, made you laugh when you needed it, or left the first comment you ever got on your blog. Stay positive and give back to the people who make the community work for you!

Sometimes in the blogging community, I still feel like the little sister or the pep squad, as opposed to one of thee key players. In my “real”, non-blogging life, I’ve always taken on a leadership role, being part of the governing crowd at school, church, sports and, now, at work. While I have no real ambition to be in a position of power or control, it’s more a sense of inserting myself smack dab into the messy middle of things that I seem to enjoy more than anything else. As a hopeless, tireless extrovert and people lover, I have an incredible knack for getting myself into the thick of things and pretty much staying there.

I think that because of my energy expended in so many other places, I’ve taken book blogging into a funny little place, for me. It (my blog) is “social” in that it’s out there for folks to read and I have my blogger buddies I love (more on that in a minute) but I tend to have less of an “in crowd” obsession. That is, I have less of an obsession for myself. I certainly follow the “cool kids” or at least the ones I’ve managed to latch on to as my folks to follow. I think I side with a few of my favorites, on this when I say I blog to blog and I’m here just to watch and enjoy. I think that this is possible because the community is so strong and diverse. I’m able to find my little bench and just bask in the glow of the bloggers I choose to follow and interact with.

I don’t have one favorite blogger but I do have several that I go to for pick-me ups in a few different categories.

I know that I can get really interesting and thought-provoking posts on all sorts of topics from Amy (at My Friend Amy) and Pam (at Bookalicious).

I can always rely on seriously well-written reviews from Matt (at A Guy’s Moleskine Notebook), Heather (at Raging Bibliomania) and Eva (at A Striped Armchair) on books that are classics, edgy, surrealist, and you know, just plain good.  I think that this is the collection of bloggers I always find myself being drawn back in by. They are more likely to pick up the books others aren’t reading or read the more “literary” stuff and that’s, for me, sometimes rare in the flashy, splashy, newly published stuff on other blogs.

I unabashedly know that Lenore (at Presenting Lenore), Pam (at Bookalicious) and the ladies at Stacked are my top picks when I need, need, need my YA fix. I also have to give a huge shout-out to one of the contributors at Stacked, Jen, who is a highschool friend. Though we were a grade apart and now live almost a country apart, we’ve managed to reconnect, largely though book blogging. If I have to give you an absolute, hands down favorite part of my last few years in this community, it’s been reconnecting with Jen. And now, yes, thanks to silly pregnancy hormones, I’m all weepy.

So, my feed reader is incredibly long and there are so many people who I need to give shout outs to for constant comments and great blogging in general. these are my tops, though, for sure, at least for right now.  I’m hoping to get around to sending love to everyone, this week as well as getting to know knew bloggers who may end up on my personal list next year. Congrats to all who were nominated and to all of those I follow and love, please keep up the great work!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. September 13, 2011 3:41 pm

    So glad to hear you are out of the hospital!

  2. September 13, 2011 3:53 pm

    Awwww, I really value our reconnection, too. Thinking of you and sending tons of good wishes 🙂

  3. September 13, 2011 4:48 pm

    What a great list of bloggers!

  4. September 13, 2011 5:02 pm

    you’ve got some great bloggers in there, some I’m aware of, others not, thanks for the intro.

  5. September 13, 2011 10:31 pm

    Great post! I’ve really enjoyed reading everyone’s inspiration today! 🙂

  6. September 13, 2011 10:40 pm

    So glad that you are out of hospital!

    I for one appreciate your faithful commenting on my blog – definitley doing your part towards community building!

  7. September 14, 2011 12:27 am

    How awesome is it that you reconnected with Jen? Wow! And thanks for the shout-out 🙂 ❤

  8. September 14, 2011 11:07 am

    Hey there! Glad to see you back! I am also honored to have made your list, and have to say that I love your blog as well. You always make me think deeply when you post a discussion piece, and your reviews tend to really boil down the important and pertinent issues of the books that you read. I have spent so many happy mornings here, and though I didn’t make my own list this year, I do have to say that if I did, your blog would certainly be on it!

  9. September 14, 2011 1:36 pm

    Good to see you back. And you made good points..

    Community has kept me going in a MASSIVE reading slump. Or I would have fallen apart!

    Here is my post:

    BBAW: Community thingy II

  10. September 15, 2011 6:06 pm

    Great post. And I know what you mean about the whole “in” crowd thing. I struggled with that when I started to blog but just like to do my own thing and enjoy myself now. It makes it easier.

Leave a Reply

