Skip to content

Teaser Tuesday: The Women of the Cousin’s War ~ Philippa Gregory, David Baldwin and Micheal Jones

September 12, 2011


Teaser Tuesdays
 is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

    • Grab your current read
    • Open to a random page
    • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
    • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
    • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Ok, there are far too many quotable parts of this book as Gregory completely runs with the theory from the lovely Virginia W’s A Room of Ones Own. I’ll have my review of the whole book up tomorrow when it hits the shelves so check it out!

When women are allowed to study and become historians, they bring a more realistic view to the subject. Individual women, working as historians, know the range of their own experiences and capabilities and thus know what other women can do and be.

p. 31 The Women of the Cousin’s War by Philippa Gregory, David Baldwin and Micheal Jones

21 Comments leave one →
  1. September 12, 2011 2:55 pm

    I am reading this right now too and am right about at page 100. It’s a very thoughtful and intelligent read, and I am loving it!

  2. September 12, 2011 2:58 pm

    I really like that quote. It makes complete sense to me. And thanks for stopping by Fresh Ink Books.

  3. September 12, 2011 11:04 pm

    Really, really like that quote.

    mine: http://storytreasury.wordpress.com/2011/09/12/teaser-tuesday-archangels-blade/

  4. September 13, 2011 1:05 am

    This sounds like nonfiction? Speaking as a formal student of history, I think it’s very important that the subject attract women, because a profession dominated by men is going to miss half the story. Not intentionally, but just because women’s issues aren’t the kind of thing they’re apt to dwell on.

  5. September 13, 2011 1:11 am

    An intelligent read I might say… your quote is thought-provoking. I haven’t read this book and this is the first time I’ve seen it. I hope you’re enjoying it so!

    Happy Tuesday!

    April (My Teaser)

  6. September 13, 2011 1:14 am

    very nice! i’ve heard this one is great!

  7. September 13, 2011 1:59 am

    Sounds like a great book. I love Phillipa Gregory. 🙂

    Here’s my Teaser from Hades! ~ Wendi

  8. T.F.Walsh permalink
    September 13, 2011 2:59 am

    Like the sound of it.. sounds quite profound.

    Here’s mine: http://tfwalsh.wordpress.com/2011/09/13/teaser-tuesday-pride-and-prejudice-and-zombies/#comments

  9. September 13, 2011 5:19 am

    What a wonderfull teaser!

    have a great Tuesday!
    Kyanara from Laced Little Muffin’s Reading Corner

  10. September 13, 2011 7:38 am

    Reminds me of a discussion I once had among students and academics about history being called such because it is “his-story” – written from the male vantage, with the voices of the women silenced throughout the years. I am glad that you have shared this teaser. I like it.

    Here’s mine:
    http://gatheringbooks.wordpress.com/2011/09/13/teaser-tuesday-gatheringbooks-joins-in/

  11. justbookreading permalink
    September 13, 2011 8:05 am

    Great quote. I haven’t read a Gregory book in a while; should check this one out.

  12. emmegail permalink
    September 13, 2011 8:09 am

    Love that! Here’s my teaser for this week. Happy reading!

  13. September 13, 2011 10:27 am

    I like the tease. Hooray for women writers and historians! You might like My tease

  14. September 13, 2011 10:55 am

    I like that teaser! This sounds like a good book…thanks for sharing.

    Here’s MY TT POST and
    MY WEBSITE

  15. September 13, 2011 11:14 am

    Just like that quote so much.

  16. September 13, 2011 12:22 pm

    Wow. Sounds like a powerful, thought provoking book. Thanks for sharing.

    Here’s my tease: http://diannehartsock.wordpress.com/my-blog/

  17. September 13, 2011 1:18 pm

    I liked everything i read from Philippa Gregory so far so I’ll have to get my hand on this one. Good teaser.

    My TT:
    http://bookhuntermm.blogspot.com/2011/09/teaser-tuesdays_13.html

  18. September 13, 2011 3:04 pm

    Fabulous quote 🙂

    Here’s mine:
    http://carabosseslibrary.blogspot.com/2011/09/teaser-tuesdays_13.html

  19. September 13, 2011 8:40 pm

    i love philippa gregory! great teaser, here’s mine:
    http://thisishowitssupposedtobe.blogspot.com/2011/09/teaser-tuesdays-18.html

Leave a Reply

