Skip to content

Saturday Snapshot: Modern Medicine and Medieval History

September 10, 2011

 

 

 

 

A bizare Saturday Snapshot fact: Philippa Gregory reminds me of the hospital.

Wherefore, you ask? Ah, my friends, I shall tell! you.

I haven’t picked up a Gregory book in about three and a half years. Now this is such a terrible oversight on my part, I know, as I adore her and don’t know why she’s been so sorely neglected. The happy thing is this: I was reading The Other Boleyn Girl when I slipped, going to work, 35 weeks pregnant with Kai.  I was under watch for 24 hours, then, and my fondest memory (what got me through the worry of monitors and amazing hospital food) from that period, was the book.

Fast forward to about three weeks ago. here I am, marching happily along with my second pregnancy and Simon and Schuster asks if I’d like to read the third book in the Cousin’s War series. Of course I would! I make all sorts of fun connection with myself about the similarity in timing of my Philippa reading, starting The White Queen and Red Queen in preparation for the upcoming story. This time, however, I’m not in the hospital.

Oh, wait, yes I am. As per my post/update, the other day, I now have about enough time to read everything that Gregory has ever written and then some. Turns out that my blood pressure has my in the hospital until Monday and then on pretty strict bed rest, at home, until I deliver. Strange timing, my lady Gregory! I’m about finished with The Red Queen and I’ll hopefully have my review up, soon, here. Big shout out, of course, to my lovely husband who brouht his computer to me so I can type away and stop trying to use my phone to write reviews and updates. Phew!
I hope everyone else is enjoying this fine Saturday. I’m off to read blog posts now that I have a computer. Whee!

 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2011 11:11 am

    If I didn’t know better, I would say that reading Phillipa Gregory is bad for your health, but that just can’t be because her books are just like sweet little confections that you can pop into your mouth whole. I have loved her for a long time, and even though she’s not considered highbrow or anything, I always enjoy my time with her. Feel better over there, and stay relaxed!

  2. September 10, 2011 12:42 pm

    I think it might be time for you to swear off Phillipa Gregory. Just kidding but what are the odds! Rest up and take care!

  3. September 11, 2011 1:55 pm

    I wondered what the bed rest was that you mentioned on my blog! Poor you, but lovely to have some good reading to dig into. Take lots of care of yourself, make your family run around and do all the chores! And you remind me it’s ages since I read a Phillipa Gregory and I like her very much too.

  4. September 15, 2011 5:55 pm

    Phillpa Gregory is your midwife in ways. I hope you continue to do well. Hats off to you for continuing to blog and read while going through all this.

Leave a Reply

