Skip to content

News From The Trenches…

September 9, 2011

So, I have all of this excellent reading time for the next few days.

Cool, right?

Well, sort of.

Turns out my should-have-been-short 32 week appointment took a dramatic super hero turn when my blood pressure landed me in the hospital. Ack! So I’m here, enjoying my magnesium sulfate cocktail via my arm (very sci-fi) and reading to my little heart’s content.

My boys stopped by a while ago to bring some non-hospital yummy things and, I kid you not, a suitcase filled with books. There is no wonder why I love them so!

Ah, and so here I’ll be, reading away until sometime Saturday when they’ll release me.

Good “staying sane in the hospital” tips from my fellow bloggers and book lovers would be super welcomed.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2011 11:06 pm

    ugh, that doesn’t sound good.. I hope you get some great reading time in to make up for it…

    • September 10, 2011 6:37 pm

      Thanks, I have so far! Thank goodness for books that take my mind off all of this!

  2. September 9, 2011 2:23 am

    You poor thing. If it helps, I know a few people it happened to and nothing serious happened to bubba. Just rest and relaxation and the wonders of modern medicine and I’m sure you will both be back to normal soon.

    Im 15.5 weeks at the moment, thought morning sickness was over until a massive ninja spew this morning 😦

    Glad you are getting some reading done and I hope you are out of hospital soon!

    • September 10, 2011 6:38 pm

      Oh YUCK and poor you! NO one likes a ninja spew! Congrats on the 15.5 weeks, though and happy gestating!

  3. September 9, 2011 11:31 am

    Oh, I am sorry to hear this! Perhaps an audiobook might take your mind off your surroundings, and I can advise lots of good snacks and lots of good reading. Hopefully you will be out of there in no time flat. Take good care of you two over there!

    • September 10, 2011 6:39 pm

      I may very well try my first audio book; such a good idea! I’m finally off the MagSulfate so snacks are possible again. That’s rough stuff!

  4. September 9, 2011 12:06 pm

    Ack! How awful to have had that happen! But what good boys you have! Hope you enjoy your chance to rest and relax, in spite of the circumstances!

    • September 10, 2011 6:40 pm

      Thanks, I think that I may be forced to learn the fine art of taking it easy, for now, at least. Ah, better to learn it now than later down the road, I suppose!

  5. September 9, 2011 10:53 pm

    Oh no … I’m so sorry to hear this. I’m sure it is a bit stressful. Hang in there and read happy relaxing books. Or should you read thrillers to get your blood pressure up!? Be well!

    • September 10, 2011 6:41 pm

      At one point my BP spiked way up from where it has been high already and the nurse taking my numbers asked if it was my book…woops!

  6. September 10, 2011 6:23 pm

    Having had to endure many weeks of bed rest during my pregnancy (and a mag-sulfate cocktail or two), I empathize with you — and send you only good thoughts that you are sprung from the hospital soon, and that all is well 🙂

    • September 10, 2011 6:42 pm

      Oh thank you so much! I’m SO sorry that you were in the same boat. mag is no joke! I’m off it, right now, thank goodness and I think I’ll be set for homebound bedrest by Monday. Thanks for your well wishes!

  7. September 12, 2011 9:42 am

    Ugh. I’m late in commenting…hopefully things are better by now? Hoping for the best.

Leave a Reply

