Skip to content

BTT: Queue Are You?

September 8, 2011

btt button

What are you reading now?

Would you recommend it?

And what’s next?

 

 

 

 

 

 






Right now, I’m reading Philippa Gregory’s Cousin’s War series. I’m about to finish The Red Queen which is the second in the set. I’m really enjoying the story which goes through the history of the War of the Roses from the view points of Elizabeth of York (the White Queen) and Margaret Beaufort (The Red Queen). Next up, I’m reading the nonfiction component The Women of the Cousin’s War and the third in the fictional set, The Lady of the Rivers. I’m really excited about the third selection which is actually a prequel. The story is based on Jacquetta, the White Queen’s mother, and focuses on which craft or rather the accusation thereof.

I’m really enjoying this series and it’s gotten me back into Gregory who tells a fantastic story.

After all of this, I’d really like to reread Alice and any historical references to the war of the roses to see if I can figure out why Carroll was using the Red and White queens as, ahem, pawns, in his story that was written centuries after the conflict. If anyone was any good resources that cover this topic, please, oh please, do let me know!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2011 8:29 am

    I’ve read a couple Phillipa Gregory books and really liked them. I’m going to have to check these out!

    TrishMy BTT Post

  2. September 8, 2011 9:54 am

    These are on my TBR list. I’ve heard they are really good, hope so.

    House Millar – BTT

    Aine

  3. September 8, 2011 10:26 am

    I have not heard of the series, I will be sure to check it out. It looks like my kind of read. My BTT

  4. September 8, 2011 10:30 am

    I will be reading these soon as well. Right now I am reading Love at Absolute Zero by Christopher Meeks which I am loving a lot, and after that I am going to be reading The Oracle of Stamboul. Looking forward to that one too!

  5. September 8, 2011 11:23 am

    I have The Red Queen but haven’t read it yet. I think I should read them in order, don’t you? I hate not starting at the beginning….

  6. September 8, 2011 12:36 pm

    Sounds good!

    Here is my BTT: Queue post!

  7. September 8, 2011 1:11 pm

    I’ve read a few of her books, love her.

    http://tributebooksmama.blogspot.com/2011/09/booking-through-thursday_08.html

  8. September 8, 2011 6:35 pm

    I’ve never read anything by Philippa Gregory, but these sound very intriguing – I’ll have to give them a look. That’s such an exciting period in English history!

Leave a Reply

