Skip to content

The White Queen ~ Philippa Gregory

September 3, 2011


Genre: Adult historical Fiction
Publisher: Touchstone
464 pages
ISBN: 9781416563693
Source: Book Store

At this point, I hate to elaborate on the ‘plot’ as this story has been tried and tested and, ahem, mother approved, for centuries. A simple run down of King Edward’s love and wife, The White Queen, Elizabeth, would include joyful love and ruthless revenge as well as the requisite unending ambition. Ah, but, again, what else is new, on that side of the pond 9or any other for that matter)?
I haven’t really dug into a Philippa Gregory book since I was pregnant with Kai. I can not, for the life of me, tell you why this is the case. I really think she missed her calling as my European History AP teacher because goodness knows, my old, fat white guy who taught the class never told history like this.

Now, I’m sure that there is a little bit of elaboration on the dialogue but for the most part, the bigger scandals of adultery and witch craft are pretty well proven in history. Gregory’s gift is not just in the dispensation of the facts but in the serious craft of her story. I was a big history geek, still am, and am pretty familiar with most of the stories that she puts out. The thing I love about her stories, or rather, her books, as the stories are everyone’s at this point, is the intense connection I always manage to feel with the players.

If there is one thing that I felt lukewarm about on this book was the length of the battle scenes. I understand the importance of the impending political issues but I think that there was just a bit of redundancy in the writing and scene setting. this is such a minor quibble that I almost didn’t mention it but I thought I’d just put it out there.

Overall, it was a fantastic read and I’m already well into The red Queen which tells a somewhat parallel but very different story.  If you haven’t gotten your hands on Gregory’s stories, yet, this is a very good place to start.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 4, 2011 12:28 pm

    I didn’t like this one as much as I’d hoped to, though I am still eager to read the rest in this series. For some reason, I think I got turned off by the melodrama of the situation as Gregory wrote it, but that doesn’t even make sense, because that is what she does best! I am going to have to sit and think about what it was that made me a little reluctant with this book, but I am glad that you liked it and gave it such a positive review!

  2. September 4, 2011 10:52 pm

    I have yet to read something by Ms. Gregory, but I’ve always wanted to. So glad you enjoyed this one, thanks for the review!

Leave a Reply

